German Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Nice flavor. Added more broth/water than called for. A bit salty so I may cut back on the ham next time or use more water than broth. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimquat4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was really good, flavorful and hearty. Luckily I read the reviews- I double the liquid. I wouldn't use all broth- use some water, because the ham and W. sauce makes this too salty otherwise. I cooked this on high in my crockpot 5-6 hours and it was perfect. Veggies and lentils were tender, and the soup was thickened. We had this with warmed, store-bought baguettes and buter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
excellent soup! like all the others say add more broth. this recipe doesnt call for enough .. my whole family loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I'm surprised by all of the rave reviews. This soup is good, but there isn't really anything outstanding about it. However, I increased the amount of broth to 6c. based on reviews, which may have diminished the flavor since I didn't simultaneously increase the other flavorings in the soup. It's easy to make (hooray!), and for that I'll keep making it. Plus, it's easy to convert to a meat-free dish. I'd eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This soup came out wonderful! I ended up using about 8 or 9 cups of broth but that is just how I like my soup. If I would do anything different next time I would add a little more of each seasoning because I use so much stock. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Great soup. I also used fresh garlic and more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahscakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Kat H
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Perfect for wintertime (I know, I made it in the summer, but still good) and for great leftovers that will keep well. I used fresh chopped garlic instead of garlic powder, 7 cups of chicken broth instead of 3, and 5 drops of insanity sauce. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat H

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Good recipe - my 10-year old son really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Oh yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Very good soup, definatley need to double the chicken stalk or it is to thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States