German Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
So delicious! I love how this soup turns out perfectly every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Union, Oregon, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
A nice alternative to pea soup for using leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Really good. I put 6 cups of broth & it still wasnt enogh, had to put more later. So be sure to put enough broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Very good. I was a bit hesitant with a couple of the seasonings, but I try to make everything true to the recipe the first time in order to get the true feel of the dish - I did, and this was perfect. I did use a meaty ham hock instead of the cubed ham. I also did not have celery salt, and so used celery seed and some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
i really liked the idea of this. i even used reserved cooking liquid from corned beef and cabbage but it still was a bit lacking in flavor for me. i will try this again but will add more caraway. i cooked mine on high for 5 hours and doubled the liquid amount but i still had to add more liquid halfway through or it would have burned. the veggies and lentils were cooked perfectly though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
It's just a personal preference but I thought this recipe lacked a lot of flavor. If I made it again I'd probably use a really salty hickory or maple flavored ham and I might toss in some bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
we were not at all impressed by this recipe. We at only one bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Henderson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Great recipe! The blend of flavors works well. I also needed a lot more liquids for this but otherwise I made it as written. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Delicious! There is just something magically yummy and savory about this blend of seasonings. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Delicious soup and just what I was looking for on a cold Sunday afternoon! I did modify only because I didn't have any chicken broth plus I read through the reviews first. So I used 2 vegetable bouillon cubes and 8 cups of water and it was still pretty thick. Using all broth or stock would have definitely made it way too salty. Also, used yellow lentils instead of brown only because that's what I had on hand. Very good base recipe, just needs more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States