German Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
As almost every other reviewer mentioned, this needed a great deal of additional liquid. I used the stovetop method mentioned in the footnotes. I have to admit I didn't really care for this soup, but DH thought it was good. I was hesitant to add the nutmeg, but I wanted to follow the recipe as written. I should have left the nutmeg out. Even though it was just a small amount, I didn't like the way it blended with the other spices especially the caraway. I don't think I'd make this again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is a great soup once doctored up a bit. As others have noted, there is not enough liquid for the lentils. You should have at least 3 cups liquid per 1 cup lentil. I prefer to use dry beans anyhow, so I cook up my own first and then add it to my soup. I'm not a big fan of measuring when it comes to soups. I adjust the spices and ingredients to my taste and what I have on-hand. This being said, I do use everything except the nutmeg, hot sauce, and celery salt (there's enough flavor with the celery and salt the stock). I also normally don't carry hot pepper sauce, so I just use hot pepper flakes. This is one of my favorite parts of the soup because I put enough in it to make it pretty spicy on the tongue, giving a good kick. I start with 30 oz. chicken stock and add 2 more cups of water and then dump in my 3/4 onion, 1 clove garlic, ham bone, and 2-3 cups of cubed ham. I let that simmer and soften for an hour or so. Then I add everything else except the beans. I let everything simmer and meld on the stove for a few hours and then add the beans and it's done! It's a wonderful winter meal and a great way to finish off your ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayflour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is a delicious recipe IF you follow the advice of others. Doubling the chicken stock isn't just a "good idea." It's an absolute necessity. That being the case, the recipe has an error and I can only give it a 3. Serves up great with extra hot sauce, lemon juice and some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I heeded the advice of other reviewers and used a lot more liquid than the recipe called for, the recipe called for 3 cups of chicken stock, I used 10 cups. I started off with 8 cups, and then added 2 more cups. The consistency of the finished product was definitely soupy. Since I added so much more liquid I doubled the seasonings (since I had diluted them so much). The flavor was interesting, not bad, but not something that I want to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
It was O.K. Not sure if I would make it again. Like eveyone mentioned, I added more liquid - 9 cups in total (3 cups water & 6 cups chick broth). I also doubled the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Be sure to at least double the amount of liquid. I used 6 cups of broth and we could have even used a little more. But GREAT flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Cavender

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
It was just Okay, wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
we didn't like the bay leaf part
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steffi0118

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This isn't a bad soup, and we'll finish every drop, BUT -- the instructions are wrong (I doubled the water and still got just a thick stew, not a soup), the cooking time is off (lentils were done at around 4 hours), and the flavor is fairly forgettable. Increasing the water makes the flavor more and more forgettable with every ounce of corrective fluid added. If I make this again, and I just might -- I will triple the fluid and triple the spices to go with it, leaving the lentils & veg at the same amount. I can't help wondering if the original recipe meant three QUARTS of stock since it specifies a 5-6 quart slow cooker. I doubled the liquid and still had a little room left over in my 3 quart slow cooker...Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
it had decent flavor, but it was way too thick and needed a lot more liquid. And I love thick soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States