German Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
As almost every other reviewer mentioned, this needed a great deal of additional liquid. I used the stovetop method mentioned in the footnotes. I have to admit I didn't really care for this soup, but DH thought it was good. I was hesitant to add the nutmeg, but I wanted to follow the recipe as written. I should have left the nutmeg out. Even though it was just a small amount, I didn't like the way it blended with the other spices especially the caraway. I don't think I'd make this again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is a great soup once doctored up a bit. As others have noted, there is not enough liquid for the lentils. You should have at least 3 cups liquid per 1 cup lentil. I prefer to use dry beans anyhow, so I cook up my own first and then add it to my soup. I'm not a big fan of measuring when it comes to soups. I adjust the spices and ingredients to my taste and what I have on-hand. This being said, I do use everything except the nutmeg, hot sauce, and celery salt (there's enough flavor with the celery and salt the stock). I also normally don't carry hot pepper sauce, so I just use hot pepper flakes. This is one of my favorite parts of the soup because I put enough in it to make it pretty spicy on the tongue, giving a good kick. I start with 30 oz. chicken stock and add 2 more cups of water and then dump in my 3/4 onion, 1 clove garlic, ham bone, and 2-3 cups of cubed ham. I let that simmer and soften for an hour or so. Then I add everything else except the beans. I let everything simmer and meld on the stove for a few hours and then add the beans and it's done! It's a wonderful winter meal and a great way to finish off your ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayflour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is a delicious recipe IF you follow the advice of others. Doubling the chicken stock isn't just a "good idea." It's an absolute necessity. That being the case, the recipe has an error and I can only give it a 3. Serves up great with extra hot sauce, lemon juice and some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I heeded the advice of other reviewers and used a lot more liquid than the recipe called for, the recipe called for 3 cups of chicken stock, I used 10 cups. I started off with 8 cups, and then added 2 more cups. The consistency of the finished product was definitely soupy. Since I added so much more liquid I doubled the seasonings (since I had diluted them so much). The flavor was interesting, not bad, but not something that I want to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
It was O.K. Not sure if I would make it again. Like eveyone mentioned, I added more liquid - 9 cups in total (3 cups water & 6 cups chick broth). I also doubled the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Be sure to at least double the amount of liquid. I used 6 cups of broth and we could have even used a little more. But GREAT flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Cavender

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
It was just Okay, wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
we didn't like the bay leaf part
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steffi0118

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This isn't a bad soup, and we'll finish every drop, BUT -- the instructions are wrong (I doubled the water and still got just a thick stew, not a soup), the cooking time is off (lentils were done at around 4 hours), and the flavor is fairly forgettable. Increasing the water makes the flavor more and more forgettable with every ounce of corrective fluid added. If I make this again, and I just might -- I will triple the fluid and triple the spices to go with it, leaving the lentils & veg at the same amount. I can't help wondering if the original recipe meant three QUARTS of stock since it specifies a 5-6 quart slow cooker. I doubled the liquid and still had a little room left over in my 3 quart slow cooker...Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
it had decent flavor, but it was way too thick and needed a lot more liquid. And I love thick soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States