German Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
delicious! i made extra glaze and made the glaze extra lemony and poked tons of holes in the cake with the bamboo skewers and poured geneoursly. I added axtra sugar to the rest of the glaze to maek the glaze thicker and more "glaze-y" so that it would crust nicely and poured/spread that one on for icing. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I have to give this 5 stars! I did make a few slight changes. I had an overabundance of lemons and no rum in the house, so I substituted fresh squeezed lemon juice for the rum and threw in about a tablespoon of lemon zest with the dry ingredients. The cake was very moist, and the lemon flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I must have done something wrong, since others had good results. Cake was about an inch high and very heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
My wife and I loved it, even though I had to substitute organic corn meal for the corn starch because we didn't have corn starch on hand, thereby making it less original. To those whose cakes didn't rise: perhaps your butter and eggs weren't at room temperature. Also, after having beaten in half the eggs, adding a spoonful of the flour before beating in the rest of the eggs can help stabilize the batter. This technique seems to work well in cakes that don't have chemical leavening agents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This has got to be one of the cake recipes I've ever made (and I've made a lot of cakes)! The only change I made to the recipe was using a dash of lemon extract instead of rum. A delicious cake and I will be making it again very soon by popular demand. Thank you for this yummy recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I'm not sure yet - I just made it. But, I'm suspicious because there was no leavening agent. What's going make this not a rock?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I put in a teaspoon of vanilla extract, two teaspoons of rum extract and a dash of the lemon juice for flavoring. I made extra lemon glaze to make it extra lemony and dusted it with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I was curious to see the texture of this cake with so much cornstarch called for but I was pleased with the end result. I goofed and added the 1/3 cup lemon juice to the batter and it still turned out OK. I did use the zest from one whole lemon in the batter also along with a teaspoon of vanilla and a dash of salt to enhance the flavors. I glazed as per instruction and the cake turned out light textured with a great lemony tart flavor and quite moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This lemon cake was the best! My family was literally fighting over the last piece. Excellent! Will make all the time now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I made this cake for dinner guests... and was sadly disappointed!! It looked absolutely beautiful, it rose very high and had a beautiful golden crust, but it was incredibly dry. Perhaps decreasing the baking time would help. I probably won't try this again though, we just didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States