German Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This came out really well. Somehow I made a mistake on the second batch and it came out flat. First one was fantastic though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Loved it. My father-in-law gave us a huge box of lemons from his tree and so I made lemonade and this cake! Didn't use the rum, otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Almost like a pound cake, quite tastey with almon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Umm not for me! Not sure what I did wrong looked beautiful. But he taste was not as good as it looked. My kids loved it. But it was not the taste I was going for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ari and clint

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I was curious to see the texture of this cake with so much cornstarch called for but I was pleased with the end result. I goofed and added the 1/3 cup lemon juice to the batter and it still turned out OK. I did use the zest from one whole lemon in the batter also along with a teaspoon of vanilla and a dash of salt to enhance the flavors. I glazed as per instruction and the cake turned out light textured with a great lemony tart flavor and quite moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Thank you sooo much for sharing!!!I'vsebeen looking for ths recipe since I was child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This is definately an heirloom recipe. The cake was very dry even with the glaze, and the rum added an old- fashioned flavor. It was interesting to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I WOULD LIKE TO FILL WITH PASTRY CREAM. COULD I BAKE IN A DIFFERENT SIZE PAN. I NEED TO MAKE 2/29 SO PLEASE HELP FAST. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Larson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friendship, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I have to give this 5 stars! I did make a few slight changes. I had an overabundance of lemons and no rum in the house, so I substituted fresh squeezed lemon juice for the rum and threw in about a tablespoon of lemon zest with the dry ingredients. The cake was very moist, and the lemon flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I must have done something wrong, since others had good results. Cake was about an inch high and very heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States