German Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This came out really well. Somehow I made a mistake on the second batch and it came out flat. First one was fantastic though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Loved it. My father-in-law gave us a huge box of lemons from his tree and so I made lemonade and this cake! Didn't use the rum, otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Almost like a pound cake, quite tastey with almon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Umm not for me! Not sure what I did wrong looked beautiful. But he taste was not as good as it looked. My kids loved it. But it was not the taste I was going for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ari and clint

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I was curious to see the texture of this cake with so much cornstarch called for but I was pleased with the end result. I goofed and added the 1/3 cup lemon juice to the batter and it still turned out OK. I did use the zest from one whole lemon in the batter also along with a teaspoon of vanilla and a dash of salt to enhance the flavors. I glazed as per instruction and the cake turned out light textured with a great lemony tart flavor and quite moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Thank you sooo much for sharing!!!I'vsebeen looking for ths recipe since I was child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This is definately an heirloom recipe. The cake was very dry even with the glaze, and the rum added an old- fashioned flavor. It was interesting to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I WOULD LIKE TO FILL WITH PASTRY CREAM. COULD I BAKE IN A DIFFERENT SIZE PAN. I NEED TO MAKE 2/29 SO PLEASE HELP FAST. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Larson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friendship, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I have to give this 5 stars! I did make a few slight changes. I had an overabundance of lemons and no rum in the house, so I substituted fresh squeezed lemon juice for the rum and threw in about a tablespoon of lemon zest with the dry ingredients. The cake was very moist, and the lemon flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I must have done something wrong, since others had good results. Cake was about an inch high and very heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States