German Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I made this for my husband and he absolutely loved it. Definitely a favorite among lemon cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking_Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was great. I used 1 tbsp rum extract and 1 tbsp lemon juice in the cake and followed all other directions to the T. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I was slightly worried about the batter rising properly given that I don't often use cornstarch in this way, but the loaf turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I made this for my german friend as a gift. She loved it, said it was perfect and it brought back memories. I thought is was a bit dry but liked the zesty lemon. I only baked for one hour. Instructions for after cake comes out of the oven is contradictory. Wasn't sure if I should glaze IMMEDIATELY when removed from oven or wait until I remove from the pan. Also was curious about how the one cup of cornstarch thinking it was an error but it is correct. I would definitely make this again.. extremely easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
My wife and I loved it, even though I had to substitute organic corn meal for the corn starch because we didn't have corn starch on hand, thereby making it less original. To those whose cakes didn't rise: perhaps your butter and eggs weren't at room temperature. Also, after having beaten in half the eggs, adding a spoonful of the flour before beating in the rest of the eggs can help stabilize the batter. This technique seems to work well in cakes that don't have chemical leavening agents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is a wonderful loaf cake. Very dense, not too sweet and the lemon flavor is wonderful. It was reminiscent of what I ate as a child in Germany.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Good in flavor but a little too dry...Thanks anyway for sharing...Monica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This came out really well. Somehow I made a mistake on the second batch and it came out flat. First one was fantastic though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Loved it. My father-in-law gave us a huge box of lemons from his tree and so I made lemonade and this cake! Didn't use the rum, otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Almost like a pound cake, quite tastey with almon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States