German Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I had some lemon puddings mixes to use (the cook and serve kind). Since cornstarch is the main ingredient in the lemon pudding mix, I gambled. I used 2 4-serving size puddings in place of the cornstarch, lemon juice, and confectioner's sugar. It turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Fantastic recipe. Quick, easy, delicious. Also great with squeezed orange juice instead of lemon. I make it regularly at the seniors home where I work, I double the recipe and bake it in a hotel pan. I think it works better when it's thinner than loaf sized, with a bit more glaze, no dryness issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This cake is VERY Lemony... like tart lemony. Actually I don't think it's the cake but the glaze that seeps through. Very good but you must expect it to be very bright tasting... not like other lemon loafs. I just made it and am eating it right now... its starting to grow on me! I also substituted lemon juice from the rum.. but the overwhelming lemon is coming from the glaze for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Left out the rum and it turned out quite dry. Flavor was good, but I'm going to use some of the tweaks suggested by other reviewers and see if I can get it to be more moist next time. If that doesn't work, I'll move on to other recipes for lemon cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Brubaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Horrid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kanayong
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Great recipe! Added some lemon zest with the rum. Put it in a round cake pan :) and added grated cheese on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This cake was wonderful. My German husband always love to eat German Christmas cakes, stollen etc over the Christmas holiays. I did wonder about not adding baking powder . After reading all of the reviews I went ahead and baked it. Excellent. I now have to make two more for my student sons to take back with them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
needs cool whip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I had a little fresh lemon juice to use up and wanted to make a pound cake for DH to take to work. This recipe was suggested to me. It was very weird to use an entire cup of cornstarch in a cake recipe. I found the cake overall to be dry and plain. My DH ended up pouring more rum over the top. I doubt that I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I didn't make the glaze thin enough but enough did make it through the cake. It's heavy, fine grained, and awesome. It makes a large loaf. When serving, make it very thin slices - it's very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States