German Leek and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
We prefer it a little less pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albertville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This was a very tasty soup. I let it simmer much longer than the recipe stated to really utilize the ham bone and, of course added a healthy dose of minced garlic just before the water went in. I did not have the cream so I just wisked in some non dairy creamer at the end. Next time I might experiment with some sour cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I love this soup! The ratio of leeks to other ingredients gave it a very delicate "leeky" flavor that is not overpowering. I also used the best chicken stock that I could buy...my latest kick is to use the expensive stocks for a GOOD soup base and I highly recommend it. Serve with some crusty bread and a good wine....mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Incredibly delicious.. I am in Germany where leeks are plentiful and cheap.. I tried this kind of soup at a german restaurant and wanted to duplicate the recipe and this one is very close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Jones Landreth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Made this with the ham bone from our Christmas dinner. What a yummy, hearty winter soup. The only thing I did differently from the recipe was I subsituted 1 cup of white wine and 1 cup of chicken stock for 2 cups of the water, just to add a little extra flavor. Don't think it made much difference, though, as the ham and leeks are the dominant flavors. Mine wasn't super thick because the potatoes I used were a tad small (yukon golds). Will probably get bigger russet potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I have tried this recipe and I found it is a great base for how ever you want to do with it, I used a ham that I had cooked and had froze the left over, with the juices, and a little pineapple as well as cloves, I had taken them out before I put the ham and the juices in with this recipe, I had to double the recipe and I added 1 cup of heavy cream then 1 cup of fat free half and half, and the results were amazing, everything remains the same, I have none left, everyone wanted more, but there is no more :-( great, great recipe Thank you so much for sharing sincerely cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Served this at an Oktoberfest dinner party and it was a hit. It even got a stamp of approval from a German guest. I took some of the suggestions and substituted half of the water for chicken broth, and also added more seasonings. I didn't have a ham bone, so I used some cubed ham which I left in when i pureed it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
awesome!! we are now "hooked" on leeks...we even planted them in our garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Served as a first course for a party of 10 and it was a big hit. Will defintely add to my recipe book and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pieboy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Great!! I use light whipping cream and puree it with a hand mixer. It's much faster, takes about 1 minute. My sister says she can live of of this stuff. It is just like the soup we had in Ireland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States