German Leek and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Incredibly delicious.. I am in Germany where leeks are plentiful and cheap.. I tried this kind of soup at a german restaurant and wanted to duplicate the recipe and this one is very close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Jones Landreth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This seemes a good, basic, potato soup, but bland. I made it once per the recipe. When I made it again, instead of a ham bone, I used ham chunks and added garlic and onion powder as well as a LOT more thyme in it. I also just used my hand mixer so it would still be chunky but creamy. I took it to a church social and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Delicious! Used fat free half and half (instead of cream) and 1/4 cup butter to cut down on calories/fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Kaiser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was a great base to a perfect soup. I used a ham steak instead of bone and after cut it up and added to soup. I also added 2 tbsp of bacon bits and it gave a great smokey flavour. Also, substituted half of the water with low sodium chicken stock and last but not least during boiling I added one carrot and one celery and pulled out half of each before blending. I am allergic to dairy and my husband is not. I and did not add the cream to mine and added some for his...and wow on both soups! So you don't have to add the cream if you don't want it, its a great soup both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Served this at an Oktoberfest dinner party and it was a hit. It even got a stamp of approval from a German guest. I took some of the suggestions and substituted half of the water for chicken broth, and also added more seasonings. I didn't have a ham bone, so I used some cubed ham which I left in when i pureed it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I love this soup! The ratio of leeks to other ingredients gave it a very delicate "leeky" flavor that is not overpowering. I also used the best chicken stock that I could buy...my latest kick is to use the expensive stocks for a GOOD soup base and I highly recommend it. Serve with some crusty bread and a good wine....mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
Too much butter not enough flavor. Mid-way through cooking, I had to add chicken broth and dill. It still wasn't very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I have tried this recipe and I found it is a great base for how ever you want to do with it, I used a ham that I had cooked and had froze the left over, with the juices, and a little pineapple as well as cloves, I had taken them out before I put the ham and the juices in with this recipe, I had to double the recipe and I added 1 cup of heavy cream then 1 cup of fat free half and half, and the results were amazing, everything remains the same, I have none left, everyone wanted more, but there is no more :-( great, great recipe Thank you so much for sharing sincerely cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Rizzo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Made this with the ham bone from our Christmas dinner. What a yummy, hearty winter soup. The only thing I did differently from the recipe was I subsituted 1 cup of white wine and 1 cup of chicken stock for 2 cups of the water, just to add a little extra flavor. Don't think it made much difference, though, as the ham and leeks are the dominant flavors. Mine wasn't super thick because the potatoes I used were a tad small (yukon golds). Will probably get bigger russet potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
We prefer it a little less pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albertville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States