German Leek and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Great!! I use light whipping cream and puree it with a hand mixer. It's much faster, takes about 1 minute. My sister says she can live of of this stuff. It is just like the soup we had in Ireland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Served as a first course for a party of 10 and it was a big hit. Will defintely add to my recipe book and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pieboy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This seemes a good, basic, potato soup, but bland. I made it once per the recipe. When I made it again, instead of a ham bone, I used ham chunks and added garlic and onion powder as well as a LOT more thyme in it. I also just used my hand mixer so it would still be chunky but creamy. I took it to a church social and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This is ok. Like another reviewer said, it was kind of like runny mashed potatoes. The flavor was just all around mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
awesome!! we are now "hooked" on leeks...we even planted them in our garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Made this with the ham bone from our Christmas dinner. What a yummy, hearty winter soup. The only thing I did differently from the recipe was I subsituted 1 cup of white wine and 1 cup of chicken stock for 2 cups of the water, just to add a little extra flavor. Don't think it made much difference, though, as the ham and leeks are the dominant flavors. Mine wasn't super thick because the potatoes I used were a tad small (yukon golds). Will probably get bigger russet potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I love this soup! The ratio of leeks to other ingredients gave it a very delicate "leeky" flavor that is not overpowering. I also used the best chicken stock that I could buy...my latest kick is to use the expensive stocks for a GOOD soup base and I highly recommend it. Serve with some crusty bread and a good wine....mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This recipe is delicious! I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
We prefer it a little less pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albertville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
The soup was good, a bit bland, but just not one I'd make over again. Maybe I'm not a fan of leeks after all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIESCHOLL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States