German Leek and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Thanks to the other reviewers comments... I had anticipated the soup to be on the bland side. So I substitute 2/3 of the water with chicken stock and added garlic to be fried with the onions. The 1st attempt was already a success! Very flavorful. We ate it with butter rolls and salad. It's whole enough to be a meal~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherish Panda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Love this recipe. I used chicken broth and the leftover juice from cooking the ham instead of all water. I cooked the ham bone for a longer time to make sure to be able to remove the the ham that was left on the bone and then added even some leftover ham to the soup. We prefer some chunks in our soup so I just used a hand blender to slightly puree it so the potatoes thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ponoka, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Delicious. I think next time I'll add a little flour to thicken, and some chopped leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This was so good. I used ham broth that I had made and frozen earlier in the year and there was so much flavor. If I made it using a bone I would boil the bone longer then 20 minutes to get the most flavor from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
OMG! Absolutely delicious! I made a ham the other day and wanted to do something with the bone, and this is the first recipe that appeared. I used 10 red russet potatoes (peeled, but left some skin) and one leek chopped, probably more than a cup. I used 1 cup white cooking wine, 3 cups chicken broth, and 2cups water. I had to add some extra water to cover all the ingredients. I used a little less than 1/2 tsp of dried thyme (didn't have fresh). I simmered probably 45 minutes and used a hand mixer instead of a blender (much easier!) THere was a good bit of ham still attached to the bone that i cut off and threw in at the end. This was fabulous. My husband wants to buy a ham just to make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This was a very tasty soup. I let it simmer much longer than the recipe stated to really utilize the ham bone and, of course added a healthy dose of minced garlic just before the water went in. I did not have the cream so I just wisked in some non dairy creamer at the end. Next time I might experiment with some sour cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
it was so tasty.. i added some ham and the soup cook in the ham bone and it made it even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vic0214

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
4.5 Stars, only because I do not like all of it pureed. I will leave more chunks next time. I used 2 leeks instead of 1 cup and russet potatoes. I used 2 cans chicken broth and finished with water to 6 cups. I did not have a ham bone and used 2 TBS ham base and a sprinkling of dry thyme. I also used light cream to reduce calories. My daughter who thought she hates leeks ate it, then I told her it was leeks. She was surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I love this recipe! The only thing that I have done differently is I add chopped garlic and I also use mostly chicken broth instead of all water. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very good. I used dried thyme and added extra chunks of ham. This ones a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States