German Fried Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
My family loved this. Made a big bowl for a family event and it was gone faster than anything else. I used the apples I had on hand, and walla walla sweet onions. I did add bacon, but I used the candied bacon I made the day before. A month later I am still getting emails asking for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Scaled this down to 2 servings and used Gala and Granny Smith apples. Most cooked apple dishes are sweet, so this is a really nice change for a savory side dish which was served warm with a pork entree. Next time I make this, I will add some crumbled crisp bacon as suggested by the recipe author, as that should only enhance its savoriness. Thanks Jin for sharing your recipe, this is a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made this to go with pork tenderloin today and we loved the combination as a nice change of pace from my sickeningly sweet style fried apples. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Thought this was delicious. It had a very unique flavor, Yummy yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Loved this! My husband is allergic to red onions so I used a Vidalia onion instead. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was bitter and smelled bad when I made it as directed. Maybe I shouldn't have use granny smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Yes. Already reviewed. Where did my review go?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
MMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildflower Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe! my family makes this dish in the fall every year. My mom-mom cooks bacon with the apples though and she adds a touch of brown sugar. Everyone loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebron, Maryland, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States