German Fried Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe! my family makes this dish in the fall every year. My mom-mom cooks bacon with the apples though and she adds a touch of brown sugar. Everyone loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebron, Maryland, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Loved this! My husband is allergic to red onions so I used a Vidalia onion instead. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Scaled this down to 2 servings and used Gala and Granny Smith apples. Most cooked apple dishes are sweet, so this is a really nice change for a savory side dish which was served warm with a pork entree. Next time I make this, I will add some crumbled crisp bacon as suggested by the recipe author, as that should only enhance its savoriness. Thanks Jin for sharing your recipe, this is a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made this to go with pork tenderloin today and we loved the combination as a nice change of pace from my sickeningly sweet style fried apples. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
MMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildflower Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was bitter and smelled bad when I made it as directed. Maybe I shouldn't have use granny smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Thought this was delicious. It had a very unique flavor, Yummy yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Yes. Already reviewed. Where did my review go?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Although I do love sweet things, this is a very nice change of pace for something "apple". I fried a little bacon, and used part of the grease this produced to sautee the apple and onions, instead of adding butter. When cooked, I seasoned with salt, pepper, and just a light sprinkle of seasoning salt I served this over a little cooked barley for supper, saving a little for the next day to eat as a salad with just a tad of my favorite bleu cheede dressing. Both were unique and tasty. I'm very happy to have found this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Love this as a savory way to use apples. Served as a side for sauerbraten and everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States