German French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I'm a newish cook, and I think this is the first time I've ever made French Toast of any sort. Plus, I'm not sure if I've ever even had Muenster either. That said, this was pretty easy to make, and tasted pretty good. I only give it 3 stars because it wasn't fantastic, but I still might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
So simple, and yet sooooo yummy. I used the sliced, packaged, store brand muenster, so I could stand a little more cheese flavour, but as a person who does not like sweet, I have found my ideal french toast!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Not bad! I used egg substitute and homemade challah. The cheese sort of replaces any butter one might normally spread on french toast. It contrasts well with the powdered sugar I sprinkled on top! I didn't like it very much without the sugar, strangely enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Really good! My grandma would make some like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Hmmmm.... not bad. Actually it was a bit dry at first and I wasn't sure what condiment to use, but I tried Mrs. Butterworth's syrup and it turned out great with that on top. The Muenster doesn't have much flavor, it blends right in and this was really pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Sooooooooo delicious! Served with a drizzle of Maple Syrup and a side of bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I have had the week off and tried many recipies! This one is over thee top great. It was easy and quick. I added a small amount of cinnomen and powered sugar and a drizzel of pur maple syrup. Made more---------alot more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Not sure what provoked me to try this recipe... I guess because I was only cooking for myself and I like eggs, cheese, toast, butter... Frankly, I will never admit to my classy friends that I actually ate this, nor will I serve it to my husband, however I'm thinking if I'd just had a date with a guy that took me to one of those crazy beer restaurants that likes to serve a burger patty in a taco shell and taco meat on a bun... then (in the morning?) this recipe might just bring him down on one knee!! Ha!... good in a mom's comfort food sorta way. I used a Cheddar cheese and maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Had to try it because it's different. Since I'm such a cheese fan, it tasted good to me! Might add bacon the next time. As for Nathalie's review - I didn't know we were reviewing the name of the recipe - lighten up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williams, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This is one of those recipes I never would have thought to try if someone had not mentioned it on the recipe exchange, and I ended up liking it a lot! When I think of French toast, I think "breakfast" but this is really just a variation open-faced grilled cheese, so I had it for supper. Quick, easy and actually pretty filling since I used a nice hearty multi-grain bread! I took another reviewer's suggestion and added a few shakes of Worcestershire and THAT really made it savory and yummy! Next time I might add it to the egg mixture before dipping the bread - oh, and since it was just me, I used egg substitute so I could just use a splash and not "waste" any leftover egg. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States