German Cut-Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Whipped these up in no time! The brown sugar made them much tastier and chewier than a sugar cookie made with white sugar. Like others, I rolled the dough between parchment paper to make it easier on myself... cut the cookies there and simply lifted the parchment paper onto the cookie sheet. Easier cleanup, and no mushed shapes! The cookies held their shapes well during cooking, even the ones I'd used the melon baller on. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
I was very please with this recipe. They turned out really tasty. I added a tsp of almond extract for a little more flavor. My son loved how fast he got to decorate them. No chilling time was very helpful with little ones. Tastes a little like chocolate chip cookies, minus the chocolate chips. Only downside is used them with a leaf cookie cutter and they puff up a lot so they looked more like clouds. But will defenitly use the recipe again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
good cookies, tasty, easy to roll out and cut. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I'm definitely a cook, not a baker...but I made these cookies with relative ease. I was in a pinch and needed a fast cut-out cookie recipe. I made little hearts for Valentine's Day and they turned out super cute! I'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This is a very good and quick recipe. Kids can help and ejoy cooking. You can use a lemon glace made with lemon juice and confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Made this recipe exactly as written. Very disappointed. It was way to moist to roll out without chilling. I ended up just pouring the mix into sheet pans to make sheet cookies. Hopefully they turn out good. The mix tastes wonderful. And just a tip... stop rating recipes that you have modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I replaced half the flour with Whole Wheat flour and my kids didn't notice. Great dough to work with and everybody loved the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This recipe is great because right after you finish mixing, you can start cutting out shapes! They have a pretty color and taste yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
My little brother helped me with these cookies for Valentine's Day and it was very easy! And they were very fluffy and soft and very good with icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Yum! Loved these, such a great flavor & a bit richer than regular sugar cookies thanks to the brown sugar. Found they puffed up a little too much when rolled 1/4 in thick, but they baked perfectly when rolled thinner. Will definitely bake these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by f16mechanic
Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States