German Currywurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
NO Kielbasa, NO Bockwurst, it has to be a "BRATWURST"!! It is a pork sausage. The cheap and easy way is Ketchup and Curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I spent a summer in Germany and this is the closest thing I've found to currywurst since I left. Thanks for reviving those memories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Yum! This dish was good with a side of rice and veggies. I used ketchup and a can of tomato paste with a bit of water. It was still too much sauce. Added extra curry, less chili sauce and turkey kielbasa browned and heated in a pan instead it was good! I will make again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I looked and looked at this recipe and although I usually follow a recipe to a "T" the first time I could not bring myself to use 3 cans of tomato sauce. Then, I discovered I had no tomato sauce and used ketchup and chili sauce and sprinkled 1 tsp. of curry powder on top. I guess it's nothing like the original. I brought it to one of those pot-luck appy nights and it was a big hit so I've rated it four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Excellent recipe. I read the reviews before making it, and only put in half of the tomato sauce. I still had too much. I made it for my German class for a food day. It was a hit with my students. Cooks easily in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This was not the most inspiring version of currywurst I've ever had. Quick though. I'd definately use way less tomato sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Pretty good but makes way more sauce than needed. Even works in the crockpot. I'll have to try it with knockwurst sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
On advice of previous reviews, I used 1 cup tomato sauce and 1 cup ketchup, increased the curry alot, and added chopped onions. I sliced the keilbasas and fried them, then added the sauce and simmered about 20 minutes. It was good, but a little too spicey for me. I'll make it again but cut back on the curry powder. My guests loved this! I served it with a brown and wild rice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
i grew up on Curry Wurst this gets close but meh... germans acutally use a sausage made of fine ground beef that gets fried till the skin is crispy but the type of sausage is somewhat regional an easier sauce is ketchup with lots of curry (to taste) and some browned fine diced onions served usually with a fresh roll and/or french fries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HPlacanico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Babenhausen, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Three Rivers, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I've been eating currywurst ever since I came to the States 35 years ago. I make it polish sausage or knockwurst. I have always made with Ketchup. I used good Hungarian Paprika and Indian Curry. I tried this version, but used only one can of tomato sauce (3 seemed a bit too much). It was very good and I welcomed the change. I know it is popular in Berlin, but it was also popular in Heilbronn, which is in the South. I pretty much could purchase it anywhere in Germany. Thanks, sure enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Heilbronn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States