German Currywurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by STRUDELQUEEN
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I love this easy recipe. When I make it (I am Austrian)in the U.S., I grill the sausage (jumbo hot dogs or bratwurst) and use ketchup mixed with curry. For appearance I sprinkle a little bit of curry on top. This makes it very easy. Serve it with a crips Kaiserroll and use toothpicks for eating. I submitted a photo which looks pretty authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRUDELQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I've been eating currywurst ever since I came to the States 35 years ago. I make it polish sausage or knockwurst. I have always made with Ketchup. I used good Hungarian Paprika and Indian Curry. I tried this version, but used only one can of tomato sauce (3 seemed a bit too much). It was very good and I welcomed the change. I know it is popular in Berlin, but it was also popular in Heilbronn, which is in the South. I pretty much could purchase it anywhere in Germany. Thanks, sure enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Heilbronn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
This was so good. I'll be sure to measure the hot sauce next time the sauce I had was tooooo hot but still was awesome. I served this over peeled and boiled potatos, it turned out to be the perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olyscrapper

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Excellent recipe. I read the reviews before making it, and only put in half of the tomato sauce. I still had too much. I made it for my German class for a food day. It was a hit with my students. Cooks easily in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
I really liked this one! I made some rice to go along with it. My children wanted me to add more spices next time, but I told them that I really enjoyed the flavor and sometimes it's nice to eat foods that aren't spicy! This is a great party food for the kids. Make some and watch the ball game!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRACEHHOPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Really good! I added a little garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Even my (picky) children enjoyed this dish. The sauce tastes like what I remember too - well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
My husband has spent a few years in Germany as an exchange student, and in the military. He was very excited about this recipe. We used Bratwurst instead of the Kielbasa to make it more authentic. He said that in Germany it's served over fries with a spot of mayo on top. He really enjoyed this recipe and I will probably make this again for him, though it was a little spicy for me and the kids. I'm not sure if it was the amount of pepper in the sauce, or the bratwurst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
We Love this. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicenza, Veneto , Italy
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I spent a summer in Germany and this is the closest thing I've found to currywurst since I left. Thanks for reviving those memories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States