German Currywurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This is very good. I seldom measure anything exactly (except when baking). I made a small batch, used catsup instead of chili sauce and added a little red wine vinegar. We are having it tonight. I will used both bratwurst and knockwurst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criss

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Instead of kielbasa, Germans use a Knackwurst or a Rindswurst. A rindswurst is made out of beef and close to the Beef Hot dog. Knackwurst is made of pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kochmuetze

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
We Love this. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicenza, Veneto , Italy
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I am german, my father had a Imbissstube and he used bratwurst with ketchup and curry for on the go currywurst, it was fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was really tasty, reminds me a lot of the fatherland and meals I had in Frankfurt years ago. I used garlic salt instead of onion, and added a pinch of garam marsala. This one's going in my recipe box, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
If you don't like the recipe for the sauce, you could buy some Curry Ketchup at the grocery store (the sharfes is better than the deilcatess). I know Meijers (a big store in MI & OH) carries it. I've sent some to my son back in the States. He just can't get enough currywurst!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Schroemer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Just OK. Very easy, Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOWA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
My husband has spent a few years in Germany as an exchange student, and in the military. He was very excited about this recipe. We used Bratwurst instead of the Kielbasa to make it more authentic. He said that in Germany it's served over fries with a spot of mayo on top. He really enjoyed this recipe and I will probably make this again for him, though it was a little spicy for me and the kids. I'm not sure if it was the amount of pepper in the sauce, or the bratwurst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This is the best starting point I've found. Like others I made changes. Used Brat and Bockwurst. Instead of tomato sauce I used half ketchup and half tomato paste. Would use even less paste next time. 45-50 ounces of sauce in all. Added double to triple the rest of the ingredients. Also added some curry in addition to sprinkling it at the end. I've eaten at Curry 36 in Berlin and was trying to recreate it. This got very very close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Not bad. I added a lot more curry to the sauce though, otherwise it only tasted like tomato sauce as I simmered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States