German Currywurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I went with the fastest way using catsup rather than tomato sauce. I used some other substitutes as well. Actually it turned out pretty much the way I recall from my days in Germany. Here's what I did... ... Instead of Kielbasa - I used Bratwurst (4 grilled in a frying pan on all sides & then cut into sections & sprinkled with curry powder on each side and grilled for about 45 seconds each side) Afterward I put them in the sauce to absorb the sauce/flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This one I didn't have to beg my kids to eat! haha After reading the reviews, I only used 1 can of tomato sauce and then added about 1/2 a can full of Heinz Ketchup. I added WAYYY more than a pinch of paprika and probably a good 2 tablespoons of curry. I let it all simmer on the stove around 20 mins and it was SO good. My kids gobbled it up and begged for more. I'll be making 2 lbs next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is a good recipe very close (with some changes) to currywurst from when I lived in Germany. Only used one can of tomato sauce. Didn't use the chili sauce at all (can't imagine how that would taste) instead added 2-3 tablespoons of curry. I also used 1 tablespoon on paprika. I used a package of brats instead of kielbasa, cut them up in to slices and browned them on the stove. once brown added the rest of the ingredients, brought to a boil then simmered 20min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Made as is and very awesome! Did add a little more curry powder and chili sauce since I like more spicy! Have been to Germany many times and have never tried currywurst, but was always intrigued by it. I was partial to Bratwurst and German mustard (the betst) and Weizen beer! Will make again. Probably with a beef hot dog instead this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I know this is Deutschland street food, but the sausage needs to be a pure pork sausage and if you can have it made with a better cut I would suggest doing so. It makes a great snack when you are in town. I have had this with a few differnt types of sausage and I think bratwurst with a curry wurst sauce is the best. BTW if you want to be true the the street food; then the base needs to be Heinz Ketchup or you could just buy a bottle of Heinz Curry Ketchup with chili , which is what every vendor trends toward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhumphrys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I made it with Ketchup and honestly the scent totally reminded me of getting Currywurst on your way home at the train station in Regensburg! No way would I use 3 cans of sauce, a can's worth is sufficient. But with Ketchup there is a little vinegar bite to it. I added the sugar like it said here that normally kicks that out. Its a good quick and seriously close to Germany taste, Currywurst for the GO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferOst

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Hohenfels, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I used a slightly different approach, but the same ingredients. First, I cooked the sliced hot dogs in 2 tablespoons of butter in a large sauce pan instead of broiling them, then I made the sauce with just 1 can of tomato sauce (3 would have made soup!). I used the amounts of spices and chili sauce as specified in the recipe though, but I recalled it wrong and used less pepper. The result was GREAT! Very tasty and very easy. I will make it again for sure. I would have given it 5 stars if it had called for 1 can of sauce, 3 would have been way too much and the other ingredients would have been completely overpowered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Quick, easy, and tasty! We were just in Berlin in April and this recipe was almost exactly like what we had there on several occasions. I did use bratwurst and knockwurst instead of kielbasa and only 1 small can of tomato sauce with ketchup making up the rest of the volume for the sauce as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iola, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
As other reviewers mentioned, Kielbasa is Polish and smoked. Being German, I recommend Bockwurst, Wiener Wuerstchen, Fleischwurst... .also I can recommend using brown sugar in the sauce if made from scratch as it gives it more flavor due to caramelization within sauce when heated. Never heard of anyone adding chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Loved it!!! - Followed suggestion to just use 1 15 oz can tomato sauce (not 3) - this gives you more than enough sauce. Knockwurst instead of kielbasa - and alot of curry powder if you want the taste. Leftover update: even with 1 15oz tomato sauce, there's still so much - I bought 3 more Knockwurst to add with the leftovers a couple of days later - no need to buy more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States