German Christmas Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Don't envision traditional "gingerbread with lemon sauce"! This cake is a delicious, hearty spice cake. Can't wait to try some with coffee in the morning. A couple things: I wanted it to be more flavorful, so I added more spices. Also the recipe makes a huge amount of batter, way too much for my bunt pan. Did not relese from my pan at all, but I don't think my kids will care...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Wonderfull,moist,flavorfull,did have a slight problem gettng it out of the tube pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
what kind of frosting do they show on it in the picture? i am anxious to try this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Ponto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this for the B&B this weekend, and everyone loved it! I substituted extra OJ since I didn't have orange liqueur, and didn't pack the brown sugar. I will definitely be making this throughout the winter season - it is really delicious. I used it in place of a coffee cake for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Yum...this is the perfect compromise between a spice cake and the German gingerbread dessert my Oma made for so many years. My cake was done at 55 minutes - so make sure you check it early! I substituted the almonds with pecans, and also used golden raisins. Do this cake a favor and make a wonderful orange icing using freshly squeezed juice and zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireGuysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Aguanga, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I tried a "tester" cake last night to see if this recipe would be worthy of being given as a gift for Christmas. It is. And the tester is going in my and my boyfriend's bellies. OM NOM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Great recipe, I modified it slightly, so here are my modifications. First, ~I MADE A DOUBLE BATCH, SO MODIFICATIONS ARE BASED ON THAT.~ I replaced the raisins with fresh Madijol dates chopped about the size of a raisin with scissors and I added 1.5 cups of fresh candied ginger slices that I cut into fine strips with the scissors and rolled the ginger and dates through the brown sugar so that they would not all stick together in clumps. I also reduced the brown sugar for a DOUBLE batch by 1 cup less, using 3 cups brown sugar and further reducing the honey by 2/3 cup less as well on the double batch. I also increased the spices as follows for a double batch. 2 tsp cloves and 2 tsp cinnamon instead of the lesser amounts listed in original recipe. I did not have nutmeg on hand, so that was also left out, but I did not see a significant difference without it. I was out of orange liqueur, so I substituted Bailey's Irish cream and added the zest of 1 whole orange to the Irish Cream and let that sit while I stirred up the rest of ingredients... it smelled totally great and just like orange liqueur by the time I mixed it it!!! TURNED OUT FABULOUS AND MOIST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine61967

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this for a family Christmas party and it was gone within 20 minutes. I absolutely love this and plan on making it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJHavoc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
HELP...making for my daughters 4th grade class, what is the frosting?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This cake is not too sweet. It has been a hit eveytime I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States