German Chocolate Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
GREAT RECIPE Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
We made this for our taste testers and we had to put a sign out to say it was all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made this for my Father's birthday with my mother. I lined the bottom of the pan with wax paper, used a bar of baker's German's sweet chocolate, and substituted pecans for walnuts. Let it cool completely before you flip! I let mine cool overnight and then loosened the edges and flipped it onto a foiled baking sheet and it maybe leaked a spoonful. Plus the frosting section didn't stick much at all as long as I was careful peeling off the wax paper. It makes a fairly sweet and tender cake. If your looking for lots of deep rich chocolate, look elsewhere. But if your looking for balanced cocoa flavor and easy to make German Chocolate cake the night before an event, this cake is a keeper! Thanks for the lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingArtStudent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
AWESOME! Must admit I don't know how this particular cake batter recipe is , because I used a German Chocolate cake mix, but was thrilled with the topping and the technique! My results were excellent! Heeded other advice and lined pan with parchment paper on the bottom and sides and had no problems with it sticking or with appearance. I totally recommend this, even if time is not an issue. This topping is way superior to canned coconut pecan frosting. By the way, I doubled the amount of coconut because I needed to use it, sprinkled chopped pecans and chocolate chips all over the topping before sprinkling the marshmallows. The only other change was used coconut milk for some of the water in the cake mix directions, I needed to use that up, too. Lastly, followed the time called for on the box, so baked it 30 minutes at 350*. I will definitely make this again and highly recommend it. Made it for a birthday party and was proud to serve it! Thank you so much for posting this, SUNSET1 !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Wasn't sure if this would be good... Was Great!!!! My husband loves german chocolate cake, this was excellent, and it came out of pan easily. I let it cool went around edges with knife flipped it and pounded on pan, it came out perfect!! I added more nuts but that was the only change I made, moist tasty Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
THIS CAKE WAS AMAZING!! So moist and fluffy! I am big into baking and this is one of the best cakes i've come across!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moxie & mirth
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Made exactly as directed, with two exceptions: I made only 1/3 of the recipe (8 servings) in a 9x5 bread loaf pan, and I used semi-sweet chocolate. Baked about 35 minutes. Waited about 30 minutes before flipping over. It flipped clean, except for some coconut that I scraped out and put on top of the cake. No sticking, no big mess. As for taste, it's slightly less chocolatey than a german chocolate cake from the grocery store or a package mix - next time I will double the chocolate. The topping was nutty and coconutty, but a little bit watery tasting, hence the 4 stars. The texture was good, and it was plenty sweet, so over all a quick, easy, yummy frumpy homemade cake. NOTE: This looked just fine for a casual easy dessert. Ignore the complaints about appearance. (It is an upside down cake, after all.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I have done this cake 3 times. Luv it!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
A trick to have it come out of the baking dish without sticking, is to line the dish with parchemint paper. This way, it comes out effortlessly without sticking! I topped half of the sauce with pecan and left out the other half without pecans. At the family dinner, I got mixed reviews. Some could NOT stop eating it, and kept going back for more. Others, thought the cake was not rich enough or was lacking flavour. They said it just doesn't satisfy the sweet craving. I only tasted it a whole week later (stored in the fridge), after warming each slice a bit in the microwave. I loved it! I thought it just hits the spot! It was still moist and delicious! So here you go, some were addicted to it, and for some, it was too light. You be the judge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Fantastic cake and easy. I made it with regular semi sweet chocolate and it was brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States