German Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
My family loved these cookies. I made them pretty much as is...except I only used 1 cup of pecans and 1 cup of coconut because the the nuts and coconut came in 2 cup bags, I decided I would save a cup of each to make another batch! I don't think that made any difference as the cookies were still wonderful. I did add a 1/4 cup of flour per other reviews as I was worried about spread, but I don't think I really needed to. Next time I will not. I think it made my mix too dry, so I added a tablespoon of water to counter the flour I put in. I have a brownie recipe I make that also uses a cake mix, and it seemed to be the same consistency...which is somewhat dry, but moist when baked. Very good, will make just as recipe is posted next time. Thanks Carla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Very yummy as is! Took it to a potluck and was the first thing gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Used other tips and added 1/2 c of flour. Took them to a party and they were a hit. I was asked several times for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vlasprincess
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
These turned out divine! I made these for my co-workers and customers where I work, (I'm a bartender) and everyone raved about them. I even got two marriage proposals :) The only thing I added was 1/3 cup of flour to the cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Though they are not very pretty, the cookies are delicious. I'm pretty picky when it comes to cookies - they have to be soft and chewy on the inside with a bit of a crisp on the outside - that is exactly what these cookies were. The topping - homemade, always go for homemade if you can, it always tastes better - was the perfect amount of sweetness for the not-too-sweet cookie. Together, the topping and cookie, had a fantastic taste, and yet they still tasted good apart. Will definitely make again - though I'll try and figure out how to make them a little prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
even though we didnt use pecans they were grate! at first i thout it look my dogs poo i loved it way mor than i thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was the best cookie I have ever eaten! I read other reviews and think that they may have made theirs wrong. I had no trouble with them spreading and you do NOT need to add flour. The cake mix does not say to be prepared therefore all you do is add butter to dry cake mix so it is not runny. It is a little hard to shape because the mix is dry but once they bake it all cones together perfect. No need to change a thing! Yummmmmy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I just had these for the first time. A friend made them. WOW! If you like German chocolate, you will love these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I LOVE German Chocolate Cake....actually anything w/ coconut, and these cookies are AWESOME! Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I read the reviews and I added 1/3 c of flour and refrigerated it overnight. I also added chocolate chips into the cookie batter, and I used devil's food cake. The cookies came out perfect, but they are REALLY chocolatey! They were not flat at all either. My boyfriend loves them. Definately making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States