German Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
The very BEST cookie I have ever eaten. I receive raves from everyone who tastes one...and it super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaruka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
I was going to make German chocolate cake but stumbled into this recipe instead. This is a delicious cookie that is crispy on the edges and chewy in the center. I didn't have any pecans, but walnuts were a great substitute. I had enough cookie dough and filling to make six dozen cookies. It's a nice change of pace from the usual jam-filled thumbprint cookie. Thanks for a great recipe, Carla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
These are very good cookies. They do taste like the cake, but with a cookie consistency. Very rich. Loved them! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Yummy! I did find that I needed to refrigerate the dough a little. Maybe my house was to warm. Before I refrigerated the dough the cookies spread while baking. After they did not as much. Thanks for a great recipe. I will be using this one for a long time to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I brought these to a Christmas party--having never made them before--and guests loved them. I have had several requests for the recipe since then. Very easy, but do not appear to be an "easy" cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Carla, I just want you to know that I have been looking for this recipe for over 15 years and I want to thank you soooo much for posting it on this site!!! I had the original recipe back in 1986 and I lost it due to moving and haven't been able to find it until now. So, Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
MARY210 These cookies are delicious. I was cookie testing this weekend for our Christmas Cookie Exchange. This is it. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I really like these. They are moist (I didn't bake them the whole 10 mins. I baked them about 8mins.) These are a change and are great for coconut lovers. I do belive that store bought filling would be alright but the homemade is so much better. I tinkered with the idea of taking the easy way out and using the store bought and I am glad that I didn't! I ate so many of these! I think I might drizzle a little melted chocolate across the tops of these to fancy them up a little. Otherwise great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
My husband LOVED these and I loved the taste too which is why I gave them 5 stars........but I would only give 2 stars for appearance. I was expecting a cute little thumbprint cookie filled with the coconut/pecan mixture. Instead, the cookie spread out and flattened completely; I even refrigerated the dough prior to baking. Delicious to eat but not so appealing to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I made 2 batches in the same day. Batch #1: made exactly as stated, and put dough in fridge. Cookies spread to 3", and were flat. Batch #2: I significantly cut the amount of filling I added to the cake mix, hoping the cookies wouldn't be so flat and spread so much. No appreciable difference. These taste great -- unique blend of crunchy and chewy. My guests adored them, and asked for the recipe! But beware: they spread a LOT. Even making them in 1" balls yields a 3" cookie. I had a lot of filling left over after Batch #1 and even more with Batch #2 and froze it for I-don't-know-what. The only way I'd improve them would be to somehow make them not as flat. Perhaps adding 50% more coconut and nearly that much more pecans would help bulk them up. Whatever, I highly recommend these. They're addictive: be sure to make more than enough for what you need, because you'll end up eating several while they're still warm from the oven. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States