German Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I followed the recipe for the filling exactly. The flavor was wonderful but my filling was too runny. I will reduce the amount of milk the next time I make it - and I will make again! I used more pecans in the topping and also added a tsp of vanilla. It is time consuming - especially if you make your own crust - but the reward is worth it! Also as an FYI - coconut pecan frosting freezes well if you want to save leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
A co-worker made this and we all loved it. Making it for Thanksgiving tomorrow! I did add extra 1/3 C coconut for a thicker topping, but that is my personal preference. Can't wait to hear what the relatives think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Delicious. Easy to make, and I wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I took this to work and it was devoured! Even though I forgot the vanilla in the pudding portion. This recipe is a keeper. I did do one thing different, which I do to all cooked cream pie fillings, which is strain the hot filling through a sieve before turning it into the pie shell. That catches any little lumps or bits that might be there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Bolenbaugh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I do not care much for pie but I love German chocolate cake. I ended up really loving the taste of the pie. There was not much left for my family to enjoy after I got a hold of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This is a good, rich dessert. It does not taste like Furr's and that was what I was seeking. Will continue to try some other recipes to see what I can find, but this one is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Very good, but I like the cake better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
We loved this recipe, it was just delicious! This is a must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I bake pies for a living and am happy to report that this turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pielady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I have been bummed since Tippins closed their stores in our area because their German Chocolate pie was so delicious. This pie is the next best thing. It is easy to make and tastes wonderful. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States