German Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This recipe is absolutely fantastic! It's easy to make and tastes terrific, but my favorite thing about it is its versatility. You can substitute pretty much any flavor for the chocolate chips (peanut butter, mint, all milk chocolate or all dark) to make great fudge variations. You can also make double-layered fudge very easily. For example, I put 12 oz peanut butter chips and half the marshmallow in one bowl and 12 oz milk chocolate chips and half the marshmallow in another. Then after boiling the sugar mixture, I poured half into each bowl. I spread the milk chocolate mixture on the bottom of the pan and the peanut butter on top and ran a knife through to swirl it (I omitted the nuts). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Made this last night for the first time, but forgot the cardinal rule of candy making "Never make fudge when it is raining." I was afraid it would not lose its gloss and firm up because of the humidity. I left it in the covered glass (13x9) dish overnight and this morning it had "fudged up" perfectly. It is very rich and deeply chocolate and may be the best fudge I have ever made. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This is a great easy fudge recipe. I found that if you boiled it for six minutes the texure was wrong it was too hard. my husband says I am too picky, but I boil it for four minutes and forty five seconds. It is also great with white chocolate chips on top, it looks really pretty. Great christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This fudge is so rich, you might pass out. It was a little too rich, in fact, for my taste, but it gets 5 stars from me because it's really, really easy (no candy thermometer required), takes about 10 minutes from start to finish, and most of the people who tried it said it was drop-dead delicious. So I suggest you give it a try and see if it's for you. You might just think it's the best fudge you've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
No thermometer needed here -- I've been making this recipe for years, calling it Million Dollar Fudge from President Eisenhower. It's the best! I am asked for the recipe always, and it makes a GREAT gift done up in colored plastic wrap and ribbon. VERY creamy, smooth and rich -- better than any others!! You can use walnuts. And I've always cooked it 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I am the world's worst cook (don't believe me? ask my husband). This recipie is soooo easy and tastes sooooo good, my husband actually took some to share with his buddies t work. Now I have one recipie I'm good at. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Couldn't find "sweet german choco" so I just used all semi-sweet chips. Turned out GREAT. Very creamy and a huge hit. I split the recipe while pouring and made 1/2 w/o nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This recipe is fabulous! I don't think I've ever received so many compliments on anything I've made. It was so easy, and it turned out perfectly. I followed the recipe exactly. I did find it a bit confusing though - this was my first fudge attempt ever - so I just stirred fairly constantly from the time I put the sugar mixture over heat until the six minutes of boiling time were done. It did take a while to start boiling... This is my new holiday treat! And it tastes almost identical to my grandma's fudge. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
YUMMY! I was worried that either it would be too soft or that the sugar would be grainy because these things always happen to my fudge, but it turned out perfect. I gave it away along with cookies for Christmas. This is our new fudge recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Shared with friends, family and co-workers at Christmas+. Came out perfectly! Received rave reviews even by fudge "experts". (Sprayed non-stick spray into the mixing bowl to prevent sticking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States