German Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I have always been a big fan of fudge but my family doesn't like it much. This christmas I decided to make fudge and take it to work where I was sure that it would be eaten. Less than three hours into the shift it was gone. I had never made fudge and was being told that my fudge was better than their grandmother's. This recipe is amazing. They beg me for more almost every day I go into work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Very yummy and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
The best I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
The best fudge! I have made this fudge 3 times now and it turns out perfect every time! Its so creamy and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Super yummy! Didn't change a thing. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I've used a recipe almost like this for over 40 yrs., and it is the BEST!! But the recipe I use is "Mamie Eisenhower's Million Dollar Fudge". And here's the difference: 1. Use 3 pkgs. of German Sweet Chocolate Bars. 2. Do not try to stir this by hand. Put both of the chocolates, the marshmellow cream, and "chopped 'black' walnuts in a large mixing bowl, and pour the hot syrup over this mixture and beat with mixer until the chocolate is melted. 3. Never make this on a rainy or humid day. 4. And "NEVER" stir boiling syrup, it will amke it grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This fudge was absolutely awesome!!! I've only made fudge a few times and always with a microwave, never on the stove top. I followed the recipe exactly, letting the sugar boil for 6 minutes from a full boil. I read somewhere that stirring the sugar makes your fudge grainy, so I left the sugar alone the entire 6 minutes. The grocery was sold out of German chocolate, so I used milk chocolate instead and it was great. I think this recipe would work well with any chocolate substitute. This recipe was so simple... no candy thermometers, no ball stages... and it makes fudge that you could have bought in a candy shop. The two important things to remember: 1. Be prepared. Have everything set up and ready to go before you start cooking the sugar. 2. Your fudge is only as good as the ingredients. It's so simple that skimping on the ingredients (buying cheap chocolate) will really show through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Easy to make and absolutely delicious! I took some to work and it disappeared in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
ummmmmm german chocolate fuuudge *drools*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. For 35 years I have made fudge from scratch, where you cook until a certain stage, then beat until the right consistancy. This is the first quick recipe that tastes right and it is the German chocolate that is the secret. This recipe saves so much trouble and my shoulders. I have two tips. #1; if your fudge is sugary, next time add a tablespoon of light (clear) corn syrup when you begin to cook it. # 2; Don`t make fudge on a rainy day. Humidity is a huge factor in fudge and fudge will need longer cooking with high humidity, 5-6 minutes with low. I used one bag of milk chocolate chips, one semi-sweet, and the German chocolate and it tastes like my old recipe. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States