German Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. For 35 years I have made fudge from scratch, where you cook until a certain stage, then beat until the right consistancy. This is the first quick recipe that tastes right and it is the German chocolate that is the secret. This recipe saves so much trouble and my shoulders. I have two tips. #1; if your fudge is sugary, next time add a tablespoon of light (clear) corn syrup when you begin to cook it. # 2; Don`t make fudge on a rainy day. Humidity is a huge factor in fudge and fudge will need longer cooking with high humidity, 5-6 minutes with low. I used one bag of milk chocolate chips, one semi-sweet, and the German chocolate and it tastes like my old recipe. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
GOOD! BUT MAKE SURE YOU FOLLOW DIRECTIONS GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This recipe makes a LOT of fudge! I followed it to a T and the texture turned out nice. It's good but it seemed to taste the same as less complicated recipes I've tried in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYLA207

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I have never made fudge before. This was so easy and tasty! I have made it several times and it has always turned out well. I 've used several different kinds of chocolate - whatever I've had on hand. Yum - very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I thought this recipe was great. No problems with it setting up. I thought that the german chocolate squares were a little spendy but if it makes great fudge it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
The fudge overall was DELICIOUS! Although it required a bit more effort than other fudge recipes it was worth the effort. We halved the recipe and it was plenty (though even that was gone in days!). We replaced the pecans with crushed candy canes which also made lovely holiday gifts. It had a very creamy smooth consistency and made great lunch box treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
this is the best fudge..tastes like it came from a high-end candy shop! got rave reviews from co-workers and family alike. used hersey's dark chocolate chips to make even more chocolatey...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this twice in a week and it just flew. If you have it, do use the whole 12 oz of German Chocolate and the semi-sweet chips (or dark chips if you have those instead). I added 1 cup of chopped pecans and 1 cup of shredded coconut at the end and mixed to incorporate. SO GOOD! One hint - this makes a whole whole lot. Almost my whole 9x13 pan was full to the top. If I did it again, I'd line a half sheet pan with parchment and spread it thinner. I think the texture would improve then, too. Very very good recipe, and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This recipe was fabulous. I followed the cooking time exactly, and it turned out wonderful. I did leave out the nuts. I also halved the chocolate chips and put in a bag of heath bar pieces too. Also I found that the german chocolate melted very quickly and smoothly by first smashing it to little tiny pieces with my kitchen hammer (while still in its wrapper). This left me with plenty of time to get it into my heavy duty non stick reynolds foil wrapped pan before it hardened. I put it in the fridge for a couple of hours to set, and it cut up beautifully. I had soooo many compliments on this recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
AWESOME Very easy to make. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States