German Chocolate Chip Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
This was yummy! Very quick and was it moist! Tastes best when warm. It has become one of the desserts of choice at our weekly barbecues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Great cake! I used chocolate chips and when served warm, it tastes excellent. As it aged, the cake staled a bit but when fresh it was perfect! Plan to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I cut this recipe in half to try it out. The cake fell after I removed it from the oven, but was still very tasty. I used butter-flavored shortening since I didn't have the butter flavoring. It was very moist and tasty. My husband gave this two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Made it twice, the first time as written. Yuck-- why tolerate the health hazards of hydrogenated fats? Second time, made it with butter (as pound cakes were originally made) and of course skipped the butter flavoring. Ahhh... much better! So one star as written, but 4 stars with my alteration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I really liked this cake. I was looking for something to make to use up the buttermilk I had and tried this. I made it for supper when my extended family was comming over. I did not find it dry at all as other reviewers had stated. I even made it the night before. I kept it in my cake caddy and it was still nice and moist when I was ready to serve it. I heated it up and served it with vanilla ice cream. It was really yummy. My sister asked for the recipe because her boyfriend liked it so much. I think that next time I make it I may try pouring a chocolate glaze of some kind over it or making cupcakes with it. I will be making this again really soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Was ok, but all the chocolate chips fell to the bottom of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardisty, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This is a very nice cake, great with ice cream while it's still warm. I didn't want to make a trip to the store, so I used sour cream instead of buttermilk and I only had 1/2 cup of shortening, so I used it and added 1/2 cup of butter. It turned out great. Maybe I cooked it a little too long, 1 1/2 hours was a bit much for my oven, but the recipe will work great when I use it again with a shorter cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Unfortunately my rating is low and do not often do this but suggest that butter is used. Otherwise this cake tends to have little flavor and dry out too quickly. It certaily warrants 5 stars with butter and I am adding it to my files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
The taste was good. I would lessen amount of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I made this with butter instead of shortening and omitted the butter extract. I also don't buy buttermilk and always substitute with home-made - (1 tbsp fresh lemon juice and 1 cup of milk, stir and let stand 5 min before adding). I also used 1/2 semi-sweet & 1/2 milk chocolate chips as my hubby like things very sweet. He loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States