German Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Hi, I made this cake for my familiy's Oktoberfest party, and it was a hit. I don't really care for chocolate cake but everyone raves about it. It was then requested a few more times, and everyone asked where i got the recipe. This recipe was very easy to make. I used a 9 in spring form cheesecake pan, it was a little full but it worked great! but i had to allow for extra baking time, as it was thicker than the pan suggested. the frosting took forever while heating it to 160F, so I heated it to a med high heat rolling boil to let it thicken, constatnly sturring to not let it burn. I then put it in a bowl and set it aside for travel. the whole adventure took about an hour prep and 2 hours of baking time. Super easy once you get the hang of the frosting. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
HUGE HIT! All the doctors I work with request this at LEAST once per month! I have co-workers that have said they hate German Chocolate Cake, but LOVE this one! It's definitely a MUST MAKE! And you HAVE to use the frosting recipe, boughten just doesn't do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Exceptionally moist and delicious! The cheesecake was dry and firm, like we prefer. Made a great birthday cake! I used a 13" springform pan, and sprayed it lightly with canola oil cooking spray, and it pulled away from the top and sides nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MalElaine
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
EXCELLENT RECIPE!!!! I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone gobbled it up! (ha) I made it as a 2 tiered cake and it was beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MalElaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I have made this cake several times and it is always raved about, and it is sooooooo easy! It tasted much better served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMMIE6164

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I had high hopes for this cake. It was rich but nothing special. It was more work than worth the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
My boyfriend absolutely loved this. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crowley, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This recipe was a huge disappointment. I was looking forward to making this cake, since both my husband and I LOVE cheesecake and he loves German chocolate cake. I'm sorry, but the cheesecake didn't taste like cheesecake at all! I've made many cheesecakes from this site and I thought 4 eggs was a lot (especially after adding 3 to the box recipe!) but I followed the recipe exactly since it got great reviews and the end result was a German chocolate cake with some sort of egg-tasting souffle on the bottom, not cheesecake! Either decrease the amount of eggs or avoid this recipe entirely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
First time making any kind of cheesecake. It turned out great. We should have waited until it cooled completely to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This was great. I used reduced fat cream cheese and used applesauce in the cake instead of oil. As good as it tasted with these ingredients, I can only imagine how awesome it is as written. What a clever idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States