German Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Hi, I made this cake for my familiy's Oktoberfest party, and it was a hit. I don't really care for chocolate cake but everyone raves about it. It was then requested a few more times, and everyone asked where i got the recipe. This recipe was very easy to make. I used a 9 in spring form cheesecake pan, it was a little full but it worked great! but i had to allow for extra baking time, as it was thicker than the pan suggested. the frosting took forever while heating it to 160F, so I heated it to a med high heat rolling boil to let it thicken, constatnly sturring to not let it burn. I then put it in a bowl and set it aside for travel. the whole adventure took about an hour prep and 2 hours of baking time. Super easy once you get the hang of the frosting. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I love making this recipe! Sometimes I use store bought frosting when I have more dishes to make. Everyone loves this cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
We love this cake. I sometimes change the oven temp. according to the pan that I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This cake is soooo good! And you definitely have to make the frosting. I almost just bought some frosting from the store, but then decided to make it and I am so glad I did. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Not a recipe that I would make again. It was just OK. Did not really like the cheesecake flavor with the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovejam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassadaga, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Very good cake. I was hoping for more of a cheesecake center though. The cheesecake basically gave the cake moisture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
HUGE HIT! All the doctors I work with request this at LEAST once per month! I have co-workers that have said they hate German Chocolate Cake, but LOVE this one! It's definitely a MUST MAKE! And you HAVE to use the frosting recipe, boughten just doesn't do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This cake is incredible! I have made it a couple times and it always gets rave reviews. I wish it weren't so sinful (loads of eggs, sugar, cream cheese, etc. - and the ingredients can be a little pricey, too) because I would definitely make it more often. The only change I have ever made was to use walnuts instead of pecans once and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Sinful, decadent and not for the health conscious! I have made a lot of cakes from this site and thought I had come up with some winners, but my husband declared this one the best one so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I made this for work - everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I didn't make the frosting - I just used a can of Pillsbury coconut pecan frosting. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States