German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This was an excellent recipe. Simple and delicous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe and very easy to make. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Very Good. I could have ate the frosting with a spoon it was so good. I used a milk chocolate cake mix cooked in a bunt pan for 35 min and it was moist and perfect I wish I had more frosting because it didnt cover the whole cake so next time I will double it. Vey easy with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I dont know I dont like German Chocolate but ever since i Made it everybody keeps wanting me to make it for their B- Day. Its Real Easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I thought the recipe was easy and the cake was very moist. The frosting did take about 20 minutes to thicken, but had a wonderful flavor. I will add it to my "favorites"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Excellent recipe! So easy and moist! The condensed milk keeps the cake from getting dry. I used chopped walnuts instead of pecans. I used at least 1 full cup of coconut, though, and at least 1 cup of walnuts. I like the frosting to be thick, not thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Made this recipe exactly as written and it came out great. Easy to make and delicious. Reminds me of the German Chocolate Cake my grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I MADE THIS FOR A FAMILY GET TOGETHER. EVERYONE LOVED IT AND HAD NO IDEA IT INCLUDED A BOX CAKE MIX. I USED A CHOCOLATE CAKE MIX. I WILL DEFINATELY USE THIS RECIPE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy RSmith

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I doubled the frosting recipe due to other reviews and the fact that I made this as a 2 layer birthday cake. It was for my honey and he thought it was better than his favorite (until now) German Chocolate Cake purchased from a bakery at $4.95 a slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I didn't make the cake for this recipe. Instead, I just used the frosting recipe, because it looked easy and good. Unfortunately, half way through the process, I realized I'd used evaporated milk instead of sweetened condensed! HAHA! But with a little poweder sugar, a little flour (for thickening) and a couple more minutes on the stove, it turned out just right! I think next time I'll have to make it the right way and see if it came out as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States