German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was easy to put together and my husband said it was yummy. I was a little disappointed in the frosting flavor. I wanted more of that "caramel" taste and this just tasted like sweetened condensed milk w/ pecans and coconut (a yummy flavor, but just not what I expect in a German Chocolate Cake). I made the mistake of inverting the cake before frosting it. The recipe does not make enough frosting to cover the sides of the cake. So, if you make this - just leave it in the pan and frost the top only! :) DEFINETELY cook it for much longer than 6 minutes to thicken up the frosting. I probably cooked it closer to 15 minutes (maybe even longer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Yummy recipe, my uncle who is a German Choc. cake lover, said this is best version he has ever tried. I do agree with several reviews on here, that the recipe does not have much of a carmel flavor, but you can remedy that by adding 3 TBS of Brown Sugar. I also recommend you cook it for 10 mins not 6 so that it gets thick enough. P.S. Almonds are a great substitute for pecans, and much better for you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I doubled the frosting recipe due to other reviews and the fact that I made this as a 2 layer birthday cake. It was for my honey and he thought it was better than his favorite (until now) German Chocolate Cake purchased from a bakery at $4.95 a slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
My Father has loved German Chocolate Cake all of his life and he says this is the best German Chocolate Cake he has ever eaten!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Kendrick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Excellent recipe! So easy and moist! The condensed milk keeps the cake from getting dry. I used chopped walnuts instead of pecans. I used at least 1 full cup of coconut, though, and at least 1 cup of walnuts. I like the frosting to be thick, not thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I thought the recipe was easy and the cake was very moist. The frosting did take about 20 minutes to thicken, but had a wonderful flavor. I will add it to my "favorites"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I made this cake today, absolutely delish! the frosting turned out perfect! I added 3T brown sugar and cooked and constantly stirred for about 11min. I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Very easy to make! Everyone loved it and I received many requests for the recipe. The frosting is YUMMY! I sprinkled some extra pecans on top before serving for some extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I made this for my good friend's birthday and everyone raved. It was also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Absolutely delicious and easy. The addition of the sweetened condensed milk makes the cake rich and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States