German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was easy to put together and my husband said it was yummy. I was a little disappointed in the frosting flavor. I wanted more of that "caramel" taste and this just tasted like sweetened condensed milk w/ pecans and coconut (a yummy flavor, but just not what I expect in a German Chocolate Cake). I made the mistake of inverting the cake before frosting it. The recipe does not make enough frosting to cover the sides of the cake. So, if you make this - just leave it in the pan and frost the top only! :) DEFINETELY cook it for much longer than 6 minutes to thicken up the frosting. I probably cooked it closer to 15 minutes (maybe even longer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Yummy recipe, my uncle who is a German Choc. cake lover, said this is best version he has ever tried. I do agree with several reviews on here, that the recipe does not have much of a carmel flavor, but you can remedy that by adding 3 TBS of Brown Sugar. I also recommend you cook it for 10 mins not 6 so that it gets thick enough. P.S. Almonds are a great substitute for pecans, and much better for you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I doubled the frosting recipe due to other reviews and the fact that I made this as a 2 layer birthday cake. It was for my honey and he thought it was better than his favorite (until now) German Chocolate Cake purchased from a bakery at $4.95 a slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
My Father has loved German Chocolate Cake all of his life and he says this is the best German Chocolate Cake he has ever eaten!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Kendrick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I thought the recipe was easy and the cake was very moist. The frosting did take about 20 minutes to thicken, but had a wonderful flavor. I will add it to my "favorites"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Excellent recipe! So easy and moist! The condensed milk keeps the cake from getting dry. I used chopped walnuts instead of pecans. I used at least 1 full cup of coconut, though, and at least 1 cup of walnuts. I like the frosting to be thick, not thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I made this cake today, absolutely delish! the frosting turned out perfect! I added 3T brown sugar and cooked and constantly stirred for about 11min. I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Very easy to make! Everyone loved it and I received many requests for the recipe. The frosting is YUMMY! I sprinkled some extra pecans on top before serving for some extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I made this for my good friend's birthday and everyone raved. It was also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Absolutely delicious and easy. The addition of the sweetened condensed milk makes the cake rich and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States