German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Very Good. I could have ate the frosting with a spoon it was so good. I used a milk chocolate cake mix cooked in a bunt pan for 35 min and it was moist and perfect I wish I had more frosting because it didnt cover the whole cake so next time I will double it. Vey easy with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
The frosting is really tasty, I think making the cake from scratch is the only thing that would of made it better, however using a box makes it quick & easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I MADE THIS FOR A FAMILY GET TOGETHER. EVERYONE LOVED IT AND HAD NO IDEA IT INCLUDED A BOX CAKE MIX. I USED A CHOCOLATE CAKE MIX. I WILL DEFINATELY USE THIS RECIPE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I dont know I dont like German Chocolate but ever since i Made it everybody keeps wanting me to make it for their B- Day. Its Real Easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Made this recipe exactly as written and it came out great. Easy to make and delicious. Reminds me of the German Chocolate Cake my grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe and very easy to make. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was easy to put together and my husband said it was yummy. I was a little disappointed in the frosting flavor. I wanted more of that "caramel" taste and this just tasted like sweetened condensed milk w/ pecans and coconut (a yummy flavor, but just not what I expect in a German Chocolate Cake). I made the mistake of inverting the cake before frosting it. The recipe does not make enough frosting to cover the sides of the cake. So, if you make this - just leave it in the pan and frost the top only! :) DEFINETELY cook it for much longer than 6 minutes to thicken up the frosting. I probably cooked it closer to 15 minutes (maybe even longer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This was an excellent recipe. Simple and delicous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Excellent recipe! So easy and moist! The condensed milk keeps the cake from getting dry. I used chopped walnuts instead of pecans. I used at least 1 full cup of coconut, though, and at least 1 cup of walnuts. I like the frosting to be thick, not thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I thought the recipe was easy and the cake was very moist. The frosting did take about 20 minutes to thicken, but had a wonderful flavor. I will add it to my "favorites"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States