German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I made this cake today, absolutely delish! the frosting turned out perfect! I added 3T brown sugar and cooked and constantly stirred for about 11min. I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very good cake! I made this for my husband on Valentine's Day. The only thing I would do differently next time is double the frosting recipe. There wasn't quite enough frosting to cover the whole cake the way I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carleighsmama

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I made this for my good friend's birthday and everyone raved. It was also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
In laws loved it! The icing was fabulous. But my favorite part was the moistness of the cake. The condensed milk was the difference. I will try this trick on other cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
The cake fell in the middle. Not happy with that at all, am making a layered cake so I baked a plain old chocolate cake to fill in the depression(which didn't fall). I didn't open the oven door once until the timer went off. Will add brown sugar to the frosting as other's have indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Very easy to make! Everyone loved it and I received many requests for the recipe. The frosting is YUMMY! I sprinkled some extra pecans on top before serving for some extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Yummy recipe, my uncle who is a German Choc. cake lover, said this is best version he has ever tried. I do agree with several reviews on here, that the recipe does not have much of a carmel flavor, but you can remedy that by adding 3 TBS of Brown Sugar. I also recommend you cook it for 10 mins not 6 so that it gets thick enough. P.S. Almonds are a great substitute for pecans, and much better for you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Absolutely delicious and easy. The addition of the sweetened condensed milk makes the cake rich and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3D's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Loved the frosting. Made extra like some suggested. The cake was a little dry around the edges but that might have just been my cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States