German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Double icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I made this for my boyfriend because it's his favorite kind of cake. He is very picky and he could not believe I didn't buy it at a bakery it turned out so well! I doubled the frosting which is a step you shouldn't skip, and used walnuts instead of pecans. I made it as a layer cake and it made a beautiful presentation on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I made this tonight and it is super moist and good! I have not made many cakes and I rely on the box but this makes the box stuff even better. I didn't do the icing, I had found another recipe for the icing but they are both pretty similar. So glad this turned out great and it looks beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille853

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collierville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
the frosting is awesome, i have never tried the cake. to make only the frosting i used 4 tablespoons of butter, 1/2 cup of coconut, and 1/2 cup of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrjustice90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I don't care for nuts or coconut but wanted a nice German chocolate cake. I made this in a Bundt pan, minus the frosting, and dusted with Confectioner's sugar. It made a wonderful, moist, pound-cake like dessert. The hubby really enjoyed this cake. You will, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bergenfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
the cake was too fluffy/crumbly, it should have been more dense. I think just using the cake mix as directed would have been better. Frosting needs to be doubled, barely enough to frost a 9x13 cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
My family loved this cake, so I give it 5 stars. I will double the frosting next time. The frosting makes the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I made this for a co-worker's birthday, and everybody loved it! I doubled the topping, which everyone loved, and added the brown sugar as suggested. This recipe is definitely a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I made this cake today, absolutely delish! the frosting turned out perfect! I added 3T brown sugar and cooked and constantly stirred for about 11min. I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very good cake! I made this for my husband on Valentine's Day. The only thing I would do differently next time is double the frosting recipe. There wasn't quite enough frosting to cover the whole cake the way I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carleighsmama

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States