German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
This is my favorite cake. The buttermilk gives it a special flavor. It is a cake my family absolutely loves, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
This cake is the BEST!!! My family and friends loved it. I made it for a dessert auction and it was the top seller!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
This cake is amazing....I have gotten tons of requests to make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
This receipe is awesome, I left out the vanilla extract by accident also i didnt fold the and whip the egg white at the end of the receipe, and this cake came out great. there is only room for 5 but this is a 10, it came out moist, and not to sweet just perfect. this is not quick and its not really eas because all of the steps , but it is definatly worth it. and not for kids to try, for a while. I WILL NEVER BUY A STORE MADE CAKE AGAIN, NOR WILL I BUY ANOTHER JUS ADD WATER CAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
WOW! This is one of the best cake recipes I have ever found. I made it for my husband on Valentines Day...he raved about it! This will definately be one of my *special occasion* cakes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
Yum, yum, yum!!! This is THE BEST german chocolate cake. Truly outstanding. It is not easy to make, however- it is definately a cake to make for someone very special, or when you want to impress. It is more than worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
We thought this was a delicious, very moist cake. We increased the frosting by 50% and it was just the right amount. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
I made this for my finace's birthday and he and his parents loved it! I used powered buttermilk and it worked very well. It was the best homemade cake I have ever tasted it was so fluffy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
Although this recipie was time consuming, it was absolutely delicious! Worth every minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
I was making this cake for my boyfriend's birthday. I left out so many steps due to his lack of supplies (why don't men have sifters?) but the cake turned out fabulous! I never got past the baking step, though, since my cakes stuck to the pans. My own fault, I know. But he tells me that the cake was the best he had ever eaten... out of the pans with his hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States