German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Only made the cake and not the filling, and found cake to be wonderfully fluffy, moist and delicious. My mother needed a cake to put under some peanut butter frosting she was dying to try, and this worked perfectly. Mild/yummy enough for my mother who isnt a huge fan of chocolate, and enough flavor to complement the peanut butter! Notes: I was careful not to over mix, and because I only separated batter into 2 pans I did cook for about 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobby Joe
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Made this cake for a birthday party with some very tough critics and they loved it. Followed the directions all the way except I shaved Hersheys chocolate on the top instead of melting and drizzling. (first time I made this cake I used All Purpose flour and it was not nearly as impressive as this time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobby Joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is, without a doubt, the best cake ever! I toasted the coconut and pecans as someone recommended, and it was even better. This cake will be in my recipe box forever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Amazing cake, but the frosting gave me an immense amount of trouble. I just didnt know how thick it was supposed to get (without letting it burn). By reading from the other peoples' experiences, I can see that it took much longer to cook the frosting than was expected. I did let it set in the fridge and that helped, but once at room temp again, it got a bit runny. It still tastes great, but being the perfectionist I am, I am not happy with the presentation. I think I will look for a new frosting recipe next time, but the cake was fluffy and decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carlo's Kitchen
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
The cake was delicious! I accidently bought mint chocolate... IT WAS AMAZING. I think it even tasted better the normal chocolate. I had a hard time with the icing but it turned out really great! It was a big hit with everyone of my family! Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlo's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I have made this cake MANY times & it's delicious,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This recipe turned out great, but with a couple of caveats. The instructions to melt the German chocolate in the beginning are confusing ("In a small saucepan, heat water and 4 ounces chocolate until melted. Remove from heat and allow to cool")--I usually melt chocolate in a double-boiler, but this seemed to suggest that I melt the chocolate IN the water, not separately, which is what I ultimately did. Also, the amount of frosting made using the recipe (I didn't cut down anything) is barely enough to cover three layers of a cake, plus in between layers. Be prepared to make at least twice as much. Flavor-wise, this recipe was right on point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Delicious! I doubled the icing recipe and cooked the cake in a rectangular pan for 32minutes. Once cooled I sliced the cake in half to create two layers. It took a really long time to thicken the icing so after 20minutes I turned the heat to medium while continuing to stir constantly. My husband adores German Chocolate cake so this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Perfect! I used a creamy chocolate frosting recipe instead of the drizzles chocolate sauce. It turned out great! The cake is very light and has great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was fantastic! The only thing is that the icing doesn't thicken on low; heat it up to medium and stir constantly. Otherwise phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensentwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 592) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States