German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made this for my mom as her Christmas present. My parents are pretty picky when it comes to desserts especially cakes! But they said this was the best German Chocolate cake they've had! (and they don't lie to make me feel special) This is despite my adjustments: I ran out of eggs and butter part way through, so my frosting didn't have any egg. I was only short 1/4 a cup of butter so i split it between the cake and the frosting. Turns out this was a good mistake! The cake is plenty buttery and my parents liked the frosting much more! ***IF YOU LIKE REALLY DENSE & MOIST CAKE*** use 2 pans instead of 3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I just made this cake for my daughter's birthday. For a basic baker I found this recipe delish! My recommendation is to read the written ingredients, and follow the video provided. The written directions miss out on pertinent information that you get from the video. As far as twisted; it is not overbearingly sweet or chocolately. Defiantly screams "I am homemade" My only tip is for the very end, the small amount of chocolate you drizzle with, I used a ziplock snack bag. I poured the entire amount in the directions, pour into the corner of the bag. then snipped to corner and insto presto, an icing bag'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This is my go to German chocolate cake. Very tasty and not too difficult to make especially for a newbie. It's good as written but with minor changes, it's fantastic! I bring everything to room temperature, increase the chocolate in the cake by 2 ounces, add half a package of French vanilla pudding to the evaporated milk mix, and toast half the coconut. With these changes, I have converted more than one G.C.C. hater! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Camden, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was my first time trying this recipe. I was under a lot of pressure because my boyfriend's mother was notorious for making german chocolate cake. When she tried it she said it was moist and delicious. A huge compliment to me and this recipe. Will definitely keep and use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
great cake everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Sullivan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made this recipe gluten free, which does not change the flavor so much as the texture. It has been over 10 years since I had a German chocolate cake and this recipe tastes nothing like it. The only flavor was that of sugar, which I guess should be expected from a recipe with 3 cups of straight sugar in it. Very disappointing. No chocolate flavor and the coconut was also lost against the sugar flavor. As far as making it GF, this recipe comes out dense, which you wouldn't expect since the egg whites are beat separately and then folded in. Then center also collapses when it is stacked. After reading other reviews, I see that those using white flour had the same problem (bad texture, sunken center). **I would also like to add that the cake photo with this recipe is not a cake made from this recipe. This recipe calls for 3 cake layers (photo is two), the cake is a much paler shade of brown, the icing does not get that thick.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I love this recipe. I made the icing first so once the cake finished baking I could ice it right away. I melted the butter in the milk on low and then added the stirred egg yolks. Brought it all to a rolling boil and noticed it started thickening right away. I stirred for a few minutes on rolling boil and then removed from heat and added the roasted pecans and coconut. I left it sitting on the stove while I made the cake and it was thick by the time I could ice the cake. The cake held together beautifully. I used a little less than 1/2 cup water to melt the chocolate. I used a spatula to fold in the flour and buttermilk so I wouldn't over mix it. Beat the egg whites til extremely stiff and folded that in. The batter almost had a glaze to it. It didn't crumble at all. It took time to make this cake but with music and a rainy day it was fun to make. I will definitely do this again. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
First time I made a homemade German Chocolate cake, so I thought with this many reviews that I would follow it exactly. This was for my husbands birthday. IT WAS EXCELLENT!!!! Please people if you make this cake follow it exactly if you plan to review. Now that I have made it once I do plan to add just a little more chocolate to the batter, NOTHING else. German Chocolate Cake is much lighter than other chocolate cakes and I personally want it a little more chocolatey. It was very light. Thank you for a beautiful recipe. Oh and there are lots of hints on the web that tell you how to substitute all purpose flour for cake flour. DON'T do IT! There is a lot of work that goes into this cake to have it turn out more course!!!! LOVE THIS RECIPE!! Oh and my husband LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I made this for my step-dad's birthday today. It turned out great, but that could be because I made a few modifications to the recipe! I changed the 1/2 cup of water to 1/2 cup of strong coffee. I usually do this for any chocolatey recipe that calls for water. I also added 2 more ounces of chocolate. The cakes in the photos didn't look chocolatey enough for me. I also lightly toasted the coconut and pecans for the frosting. The cake turned out great. The texture was almost silky. I had an issue getting the cake out of the pans, but that was my own fault. I left the cake layers in the pans too long, which causes condensation on the bottom. So I kind of ripped the bottom out of a couple of layers. The frosting is another story. It tasted AMAZING. I don't even like German Chocolate cake and I LOVED it!!! However, it's so runny! I tried everything suggested in other reviews. I cooled it. I mixed vanilla pudding mix into it. Corn starch. Everything! It was just relentlessly runny. This sucked for several reasons. The obvious problem is my cake didn't look pretty. I made it for a birthday dinner, so I really wanted it to look nice. The other problem is the icing oozed out of the sides. So when I cut the cake, there wasn't much filling between layers. That really took away from the overall taste. So all in all, the cake was completely, totally perfect (with a few modifications). The frosting, although tasty, is impractical. I'll make it again, but use a different frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shneeky shnake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I hadn't made a cake from scratch in 30 years, but I followed this recipe carefully and it was outstanding. Other reviewers said to double the frosting, so I did - but even with frosting the sides I ended up with too much. One and a half times the frosting amount would have been just right. It was still moist and tender several days later. It took me about 2 hours to make, though, including chopping/toasting the pecans and toasting the coconut. Next time I'll do that ahead of time. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Troutdale, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States