German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was a lofty goal - my first cake from scratch. It was amazing! For the frosting, I used the German Choc. Cake Frosting in a separate recipe. Likely due to my inexperience, it was pretty lopsided once I put the filling in. So I made another batch of frosting to hide the imperfections and covered the whole cake (didn't use the drizzle). It was a huge success and not bad looking with the pecans on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Just made this for a co-worker's 50th birthday party. Everyone went nuts (no pun intended). Responses varied from "This is the best cake I've ever had" to "You can start a business with this". Some even questioned whether or not I really made it because it looked and tasted so good. The only thing I did different from the recipe was add 2 more semi-sweet bars to the cake batter after reading another review for a darker more chocolaty taste. Also, instead of shortening I used butter to make the semi-sweet chocolate drizzle. When it dried it was hard like candy, yummm. My only critic is that it takes a lot of time to make but in the end it was well worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NerdyPleasures
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I am thrilled with the results of following most of this formula. This cake is an American classic, and so it comes with certain expectations. I always expect a German's Chocolate Cake to be softer and sweeter, buttery and coconutty. This formula delivers! Some adjustments I made: The cake I made exactly as instructed. I needed a six inch cake, so I had enough batter for three six inch layers, and one eight inch layer for my family to keep. I did not follow the frosting recipe at all. Instead, I used the one inside the box of chocolate squares. I toasted the nuts and half the coconut. I only added the toasted coconut to the frosting, reserving the raw coconut for garnish. As for the chocolate sauce, I never use shortening in frosting or sauces. Butter has a lower melting point which results in better mouthfeel. I melted the butter on low heat to keep it from scorching, chopped the chocolate into small bits, and after removing the melted butter from the heat, immediately added the chopped chocolate and stirred it after the chocolate was mostly melted. I used 1 oz. of chocolate and a tablespoon of butter. It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This can be a 5-star cake, but for novice bakers it is a 3-star as written. Cake batter is great as written, but the frosting and overall timing is way off. First, for a good amount of frosting you should 1.5x the frosting as others have suggested. Plus, toasting the coconut and pecans takes the flavor to a 5-star level. Also, bringing the frosting to a boil is critical. Let it cool to thicken to proper consistency. This took at least an hour, plus I put it in the fridge to speed it up. The timing for this recipe is at least 2 hours for novices. BUT, THE CAKE IS A 5-star once the kinks are worked out for beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andreanoud
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This cake was delicious! Here are my tips: you will need to double the frosting and it takes closer to an hour to thicken, I just played a movie on my phone while I was stirring :-) I also toasted the coconut and pecans, being careful not to burn them. I would recommend letting the bottom of the pan soak in hot water for a couple of minutes so that the cake comes out of the pan perfectly. Finally, they only took 20 minutes in my oven, so make sure you check them before 30 minutes! Enjoy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by butterflymomma
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Wow! I made the cake just as instructed but increased the frosting by 1/2 like other reviewers said to do. The cake alone was wonderful, it had the perfect moist, springy texture and the taste was so good. I did spray the cake pans with baking Pam and lined them with parchment paper and baked for 27 minutes. Perfect! The frosting was rich and buttery. I did toast the pecans and coconut before adding to the frosting. I used 1 1/2 cups sugar, a whole 12 oz. can of evaporated milk (1 1/2 cups), 3/4 cups butter, 4 beaten egg yolks, 1 1/2 cups flaked coconut and pecans. I started the frosting on low and gradually increased it to medium to boil, as to not scramble the eggs and put it back to low and stirred for about 20 minutes. Wonderful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Photo by cheech
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
The frosting was so thin, it poured like water. The flavor of the cake was good, but not for the amount of effort that went into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This cake is delicious! My family cannot wait till the next time I bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dedra
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This cake was delicious. My sister thinks I should sell it. No can do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
A basic, simple recipe with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States