German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I made according to recipe. Turned out perfect. I've never written a review before but had to correct the many reviewers who added something to the filling to thicken it...DON'T DO IT. The problem they were having is they weren't cooking it long enough. It takes a long time (I didn't time it but it probably took close to a half hour at a slow boil). It will thicken and change color. I knew this because I have made caramel before. Same idea. I frosted the sides just so it would look better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Perfect! I used a different filling recipe, however, the cake is perfect!! I make and decorate cakes. I have done the Bakers recipe and found it dry...although no one else noticed or said anything, I notice, I can't even stand box cake. I will never try another recipe, this one is it! Not dry at all, very fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Ramsay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Very good, but a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Barnes Porter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This recipe looked intimidating since i am not a baker, but i followed the instructions exactly. the cake was incredible. rave reviews from adults and children including some very picky people. super moist with great flavor, still tasted very fresh the next day. the frosting took longer than 12 minutes, i would say about 20. once the mixture came to a boil i waited for it to thicken as it bubbled. then i added the coconut and pecans and let it cool completely before use.i will definitely use this again, especially the cake recipe and try different types of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was a lofty goal - my first cake from scratch. It was amazing! For the frosting, I used the German Choc. Cake Frosting in a separate recipe. Likely due to my inexperience, it was pretty lopsided once I put the filling in. So I made another batch of frosting to hide the imperfections and covered the whole cake (didn't use the drizzle). It was a huge success and not bad looking with the pecans on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Just made this for a co-worker's 50th birthday party. Everyone went nuts (no pun intended). Responses varied from "This is the best cake I've ever had" to "You can start a business with this". Some even questioned whether or not I really made it because it looked and tasted so good. The only thing I did different from the recipe was add 2 more semi-sweet bars to the cake batter after reading another review for a darker more chocolaty taste. Also, instead of shortening I used butter to make the semi-sweet chocolate drizzle. When it dried it was hard like candy, yummm. My only critic is that it takes a lot of time to make but in the end it was well worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NerdyPleasures
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I am thrilled with the results of following most of this formula. This cake is an American classic, and so it comes with certain expectations. I always expect a German's Chocolate Cake to be softer and sweeter, buttery and coconutty. This formula delivers! Some adjustments I made: The cake I made exactly as instructed. I needed a six inch cake, so I had enough batter for three six inch layers, and one eight inch layer for my family to keep. I did not follow the frosting recipe at all. Instead, I used the one inside the box of chocolate squares. I toasted the nuts and half the coconut. I only added the toasted coconut to the frosting, reserving the raw coconut for garnish. As for the chocolate sauce, I never use shortening in frosting or sauces. Butter has a lower melting point which results in better mouthfeel. I melted the butter on low heat to keep it from scorching, chopped the chocolate into small bits, and after removing the melted butter from the heat, immediately added the chopped chocolate and stirred it after the chocolate was mostly melted. I used 1 oz. of chocolate and a tablespoon of butter. It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This can be a 5-star cake, but for novice bakers it is a 3-star as written. Cake batter is great as written, but the frosting and overall timing is way off. First, for a good amount of frosting you should 1.5x the frosting as others have suggested. Plus, toasting the coconut and pecans takes the flavor to a 5-star level. Also, bringing the frosting to a boil is critical. Let it cool to thicken to proper consistency. This took at least an hour, plus I put it in the fridge to speed it up. The timing for this recipe is at least 2 hours for novices. BUT, THE CAKE IS A 5-star once the kinks are worked out for beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andreanoud
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This cake was delicious! Here are my tips: you will need to double the frosting and it takes closer to an hour to thicken, I just played a movie on my phone while I was stirring :-) I also toasted the coconut and pecans, being careful not to burn them. I would recommend letting the bottom of the pan soak in hot water for a couple of minutes so that the cake comes out of the pan perfectly. Finally, they only took 20 minutes in my oven, so make sure you check them before 30 minutes! Enjoy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by butterflymomma
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Wow! I made the cake just as instructed but increased the frosting by 1/2 like other reviewers said to do. The cake alone was wonderful, it had the perfect moist, springy texture and the taste was so good. I did spray the cake pans with baking Pam and lined them with parchment paper and baked for 27 minutes. Perfect! The frosting was rich and buttery. I did toast the pecans and coconut before adding to the frosting. I used 1 1/2 cups sugar, a whole 12 oz. can of evaporated milk (1 1/2 cups), 3/4 cups butter, 4 beaten egg yolks, 1 1/2 cups flaked coconut and pecans. I started the frosting on low and gradually increased it to medium to boil, as to not scramble the eggs and put it back to low and stirred for about 20 minutes. Wonderful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States