German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was fantastic! The only thing is that the icing doesn't thicken on low; heat it up to medium and stir constantly. Otherwise phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensentwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I read some responses citing layers falling apart; Interestingly, my experience may throw some new info out there. Baking at my boyfriend's house where he had only two 9" pans, I bought a 3rd pan which was heavier/thicker than his two. After 25 min bake time, the layer in the new, thicker pan was perfectly done, and after cooling 10 min., turned loose easily. The other 2 didn't seem as fully cooked, since they had not completely pulled free of the pan edge. I cooked them another 2 min. Still not fully free of the edge, but fearful of overcooking, I took them out. After 10 min, neither turned loose as well as the layer from the heavier pan. One tore out a single chunk, while the other fell apart completely and was not salvageable for use as a "layer", but excellent for sampling. Perhaps I should has given the 2 thinner pans a full 30 min bake time to 'crust up' the bottom and sides. As for taste, fabulous! Akin to quality choc ice cream. Curiously smooth and creamy taste even before the frosting. Well worth the scratch effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This recipe is great! It was the first German Chocolate cake I've ever made, and it was so rich and moist, and was so much better than going out and buying one at the store. I followed the advice from the reviews and my cake came out perfect! I increased the portions for my topping, added a little more chocolate to the batter, and threw in some corn starch to the filling to thicken it up. The final merengue added to the batter made the cake amazingly fluffy! Anyways, this is definitely a recipe to keep. Good luck to all you experimentalists out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I think the recipe is great. The baking time could be shortened though, I baked mine for 23 minutes and the sides were a little scorched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This cake recipe was dry and just ok for the work involved, however i am giving it 4 stars because it was the BEST german chocolate cake frosting ever! I had rave reviews on the frosting at the birthday party i served it at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rye, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deborah_mmx
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
The only thing I had to change was to turn the heat up to medium to get the frosting to thicken enough. However, from personal choice i turned the temperature down to 315F and added a few minutes of cooking time to lessen the amount it domes on top and gets crispy on the edges. Everyone loved it though and it turned out absolutely amazing. I absolutely recommend trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborah_mmx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
The cake part is great. The icing, however, is unusable. It is so runny it won't stay on the cake. Just drips off the top. I cooked it forever, and added cornstarch, and then in desperation I added 2 cups of confectioner's sugar. Still too runny. I've tried it three times with the same result. Next time I'll look for a different icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This was my first time baking a German Chocolate Cake. I followed the recipe to a T. My cakes came out flat and dense. Maybe I over mixed the batter, I'm not sure. I took others advice regarding the frosting and made 1.5 the amount it called for. I had enough for some between each layer and on top, but there was not enough frost the sides of the cake. But it looked fine and was plenty sweet! Speaking of sweet, I thought the cake called for a lot of sugar! If I made this again I think I will omit some sugar and use more German Chocolate. I would have liked it to be more chocolatey. I used 2 ounces of chocolate for the drizzle. Everyone said the cake was delicious, so I guess it's a winner! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I don't do a lot of scratch baking but this was requested for a special birthday. Agree with what's been written: it's a production and will take hours, but worth it. I did NOT add extra chocolate to the cake batter and stuck to the recipe. Had no trouble getting the cakes out of the pans, having made sure to grease & flour generously. The layers didn't rise as much as I expected, but they were respectable in size. I had no cake flour, nor could I find any in stores, so I substituted using 2 Tbs. cornstarch + just under a cup of all-purpose flour (found that online). For the frosting, I took advice of reviewers & made 1-1/2 times the amount. Can't imagine working with less than that. I toasted the coconut & the chopped pecans. Nice flavor. Careful not to burn the coconut-it browns quickly. Heating the frosting ingredients in a saucepan I had to raise the heat. If I'd kept it at low, as directed, I'd still be waiting for it to thicken. Boiling was absolutely necessary, stirring constantly, and it thickened nicely. Even more so after adding the coconut & pecans. I put it in the fridge to speed up the cooling, and because time was short, the frosting was still somewhat warm when I applied it to the cake but that was fine. The chocolate drizzle didn't work at all. It needs far more fat (I used butter, not shortening & needed at least 1-2 Tbsp plus another square of chocolate). Then I could drizzle it over the top of the cake but had trouble trying to drizzle down the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Good grief. NOM. This cake is insanely good....moist cake....flavorful filling.....soooooo tasty! If you have problems with this recipe,you may want to check your methods. Happy camper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkerlieBee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States