German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Loved this cake! Very easy to make. Light and fluffy cake and the frosting was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by King Stephon Hayden
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Great recipe... I only changed one thing... I addef 1 oz of semisweet chocolate to the 4 oz of german chocolate to get a chocolaty kick to compliment the sweetness of the german's chocolate... Worked out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by King Stephon Hayden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I was looking for a recipe for home made German Chocolate Cake. After reading all the reviews I decided on this one for my husband's birthday last wk. My husband said this was the best German Chocolate Cake he has ever had, I'm making it again for Father's Day. The only thing I did different was double the frosting so I could have enough in between layers and to put over whole cake. Also when making the frosting make sure to bring your ingredients to a quick boil before going to the next step. Over All Very Wonderful Cake, I wish I could give more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I made according to recipe. Turned out perfect. I've never written a review before but had to correct the many reviewers who added something to the filling to thicken it...DON'T DO IT. The problem they were having is they weren't cooking it long enough. It takes a long time (I didn't time it but it probably took close to a half hour at a slow boil). It will thicken and change color. I knew this because I have made caramel before. Same idea. I frosted the sides just so it would look better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Perfect! I used a different filling recipe, however, the cake is perfect!! I make and decorate cakes. I have done the Bakers recipe and found it dry...although no one else noticed or said anything, I notice, I can't even stand box cake. I will never try another recipe, this one is it! Not dry at all, very fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Ramsay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Very good, but a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This recipe looked intimidating since i am not a baker, but i followed the instructions exactly. the cake was incredible. rave reviews from adults and children including some very picky people. super moist with great flavor, still tasted very fresh the next day. the frosting took longer than 12 minutes, i would say about 20. once the mixture came to a boil i waited for it to thicken as it bubbled. then i added the coconut and pecans and let it cool completely before use.i will definitely use this again, especially the cake recipe and try different types of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was a lofty goal - my first cake from scratch. It was amazing! For the frosting, I used the German Choc. Cake Frosting in a separate recipe. Likely due to my inexperience, it was pretty lopsided once I put the filling in. So I made another batch of frosting to hide the imperfections and covered the whole cake (didn't use the drizzle). It was a huge success and not bad looking with the pecans on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Just made this for a co-worker's 50th birthday party. Everyone went nuts (no pun intended). Responses varied from "This is the best cake I've ever had" to "You can start a business with this". Some even questioned whether or not I really made it because it looked and tasted so good. The only thing I did different from the recipe was add 2 more semi-sweet bars to the cake batter after reading another review for a darker more chocolaty taste. Also, instead of shortening I used butter to make the semi-sweet chocolate drizzle. When it dried it was hard like candy, yummm. My only critic is that it takes a lot of time to make but in the end it was well worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NerdyPleasures
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I am thrilled with the results of following most of this formula. This cake is an American classic, and so it comes with certain expectations. I always expect a German's Chocolate Cake to be softer and sweeter, buttery and coconutty. This formula delivers! Some adjustments I made: The cake I made exactly as instructed. I needed a six inch cake, so I had enough batter for three six inch layers, and one eight inch layer for my family to keep. I did not follow the frosting recipe at all. Instead, I used the one inside the box of chocolate squares. I toasted the nuts and half the coconut. I only added the toasted coconut to the frosting, reserving the raw coconut for garnish. As for the chocolate sauce, I never use shortening in frosting or sauces. Butter has a lower melting point which results in better mouthfeel. I melted the butter on low heat to keep it from scorching, chopped the chocolate into small bits, and after removing the melted butter from the heat, immediately added the chopped chocolate and stirred it after the chocolate was mostly melted. I used 1 oz. of chocolate and a tablespoon of butter. It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States