German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
My husband said that I knocked it out of the park with this recipe!!! His favorite cake is German Chocolate. I have never made a homemade cake from scratch before, but wanted to, for his birthday. He absolutely loved it, and although I have never been a fan of German Chocolate before, now I love this cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Made this cake last night. I'll be making this again and again. It is fabulous. Double the frosting and the chocolate drizzle is the only suggestion I can make. Otherwise it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansasville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Only made the cake and not the filling, and found cake to be wonderfully fluffy, moist and delicious. My mother needed a cake to put under some peanut butter frosting she was dying to try, and this worked perfectly. Mild/yummy enough for my mother who isnt a huge fan of chocolate, and enough flavor to complement the peanut butter! Notes: I was careful not to over mix, and because I only separated batter into 2 pans I did cook for about 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobby Joe
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Made this cake for a birthday party with some very tough critics and they loved it. Followed the directions all the way except I shaved Hersheys chocolate on the top instead of melting and drizzling. (first time I made this cake I used All Purpose flour and it was not nearly as impressive as this time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobby Joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is, without a doubt, the best cake ever! I toasted the coconut and pecans as someone recommended, and it was even better. This cake will be in my recipe box forever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Amazing cake, but the frosting gave me an immense amount of trouble. I just didnt know how thick it was supposed to get (without letting it burn). By reading from the other peoples' experiences, I can see that it took much longer to cook the frosting than was expected. I did let it set in the fridge and that helped, but once at room temp again, it got a bit runny. It still tastes great, but being the perfectionist I am, I am not happy with the presentation. I think I will look for a new frosting recipe next time, but the cake was fluffy and decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carlo's Kitchen
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
The cake was delicious! I accidently bought mint chocolate... IT WAS AMAZING. I think it even tasted better the normal chocolate. I had a hard time with the icing but it turned out really great! It was a big hit with everyone of my family! Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlo's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I have made this cake MANY times & it's delicious,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This recipe turned out great, but with a couple of caveats. The instructions to melt the German chocolate in the beginning are confusing ("In a small saucepan, heat water and 4 ounces chocolate until melted. Remove from heat and allow to cool")--I usually melt chocolate in a double-boiler, but this seemed to suggest that I melt the chocolate IN the water, not separately, which is what I ultimately did. Also, the amount of frosting made using the recipe (I didn't cut down anything) is barely enough to cover three layers of a cake, plus in between layers. Be prepared to make at least twice as much. Flavor-wise, this recipe was right on point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Delicious! I doubled the icing recipe and cooked the cake in a rectangular pan for 32minutes. Once cooled I sliced the cake in half to create two layers. It took a really long time to thicken the icing so after 20minutes I turned the heat to medium while continuing to stir constantly. My husband adores German Chocolate cake so this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States