German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
It was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ali
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
My man has a tradition of German chocolate cake in his family, and he wanted it for his birthday. It's a complicated cake to make, but worth it. Everyone ate every bite, so I consider that a success. I am not married to this recipe, but I will use it with modifications. Next time, I hope to achieve a more moist and less crumbly cake. I'll double the topping too. I cut the hole in the middle, so we could enjoy a fresh piece together, as his birthday party was the next night. I put a candle on it, and it was romantic.... still crumbly though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Excellent! It was, admittedly, more steps and work than I usually put into cake baking, but it was well worth it. Everyone agreed that it was exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I have baked German Chocolate Cakes for years. As I sit here and watch the sides of the cake fall off I wish I had stuck to my recipe instead of trying this one using cake flour. Now I know why the glaze on the sides is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I followed the cake recipe as is and it was very good, light and moist but rich at the same time. However, I did notice sticking with mine. The first one I tried to take out completely fell apart, which I have never experienced before with my pans. So mine ended up being a two tier cake as I let my other two cakes sit for another half hour and then painstakingly take out. As for the frosting, mine turned out extremely runny and had I had enough time to make more I would've thrown it out altogether. Listen to me and others when I say to bring it to a boil and then let it cool. I followed the directions and did mine on low for a solid 25 minutes and it was still almost unusable. Tasty, but way too runny. All in all, with a few tweaks I will definitely make again, if nothing else than for the awesome chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SistrWmn20
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I made cupcakes instead of cake. Also, on a previous suggestion, I toasted the pecans and coconut. You really don't need double the frosting when making cupcakes so I had a ton of extra. I have never gotten so many compliments from one dessert before in my life! As my coworker put it: "WOW, now that's one righteous cupcake! The flavor is rich and buttery and makes my taste buds dance an Irish jig in delight! The cupcake top has the right amount of crunch to add contrast to the moist softness of the cake. This is quite possibly the best German Chocolate cake recipe I've ever had!" That about sums it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I made this cake as printed. I always want to give the chef who posted it the benefit of the doubt. Glad I did, this cake is fabulous! Unlike other posts, the filling was plentiful. Were they trying to use filling on the sides of the cake?? A couple of suggestions: 1. If you only have one mixer, beat the egg whites first, transfer to a separate bowl, and then use the mixer bowl to prepare the yolk, buttermilk, etc. part of the recipe. (No need to wash the mixer bowl between the two uses.) 2. Years ago I purchased heat wraps for my cake tins. These are great for preventing the cake edges from drying out while the cake bakes. This is especially useful for cakes such as this one that is not iced on the sides. 3. Beware, we ate a slice of this cake as our supper in the evening and then a slice as our lunch the next day. It is that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I made this cake for my daughter's 16th birthday. Let me say, it was the hit of the celebration. My husband said it was the best German Chocolate Cake he had ever eaten! I followed the original recipe and it was amazing. The time spent was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
My husband loves German chocolate cake so I found this recipe to make for his birthday cake. I have never had german chocolate cake before so I have nothing to compare it to but I loved this cake and more importantly my husband was in love with it. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was a huge hit! I took advice from other reviews. I used 6 squares of german chocolate. I used all-purpose flour instead of cake flour. I heavily coated the pans with spray and used parchment paper. I could tell this saved me a headache! The frosting is amazing!!! I did make 1 1/2 the amount. It was plenty. I did toast the nuts and coconut, which made a wonderful taste! I hightly recommend you do this. I did everything recommended to get this to thicken, but it was hard. After about 35 mins of stirring I added about a tablespoon of vanila instant pudding. Worked well. This is such a rich cake that you can only have a small piece, but it is so good. It's something you would be thrilled with if a small piece was given to you at a restaurant. I also kept it in the fridge and served it cold... it really adds to the taste, the frosting is like eating ice cream when cold. So so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States