German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shannon Roberts
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I made this yesterday for the husband's birthday. Great recipe! So good! You definitely will need to make extra filling as suggested. I added 1/2 to filling ingredients, and it was perfect. Also I omitted the chocolate drizzle at the end. It worked beautifully without. I love this recipe and will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashlee Maas
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the chocolate drizzle. I tripled that. The filling was a bit runny even cooled, but it wasn't bad at all. Will definitely be making it again. I may try adding pudding or cornstarch to thicken the filling but overall the family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashlee Maas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This cake is absolutely delicious! I made it for my husband's birthday and he loved it. It does take quite a bit of time to make the cake and the filling, but was well worth the effort. I did add a tablespoon of instant vanilla pudding to the filling and the thickness turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I made the recipe BUT left out adding the whipped egg whites. I wanted a more dense cake made in a sheet pan as I needed 250 pieces for a school function. It did fall just a little but after adding the pecan coconut topping and drizzling chocolate on top it turned out just as planned. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Wonderful caked a spring form pan is the best way to go. DO NOT ALTER THIS RECIPE! It was so moist and fluffy, the perfect chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Cressy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Beautiful and delicious. Is it sacrilege to say I think it's better than my mother's? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This is my first time submitting a rating, and I have to say- there was no other option but to rate this a full 5 stars! I loved the recipe since this was my mother's favorite cake, I made it the day after Christmas since I wasn't so confident in myself of making such an involved cake, but it came out beautiful and moist!! My frosting did not ever really set even after cooking the butter mixture but I made some adjustments to add more coconut and pecans and it came out loose but still very delicious!! I'll keep playing around with this until I can get to my liking, of course I also could not find german chocolate in my grocery stores so I used semisweet chocolate instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by samisos
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Raving about this recipe. It's actually quite simple to make and is not all that labor intensive, honestly. As mentioned by other reviewers, you'll want to make 1.5 times the frosting, add extra chocolate to the batter, toast the coconuts and pecans, and I made extra chocolate drizzle because I felt its taste really complemented the cake. My cake popped right out without problems, although it was a bit fragile and was done in about 20 minutes. Lastly, make sure to completely cool your frosting and your cake. The icing solidifies to a spreadable consistency once completely cooled. This cake is moist and decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kels3
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this for my husband's birthday & for my first cake from scratch, it turned out great. I'd probably use 2oz. of the German chocolate next time but overall, the work is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsGia
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this after Thanksgiving dinner and I can't believe I pulled this off!! It's very tedious but WELL worth it. Not too sweet and overwhelming - the perfect dessert. Thanks for making my day EXTRA special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States