German Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
I found this to be a very moist cake although I followed the recipe for the icing exactly but the icing never thickened up so the icing mostly ran off of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
I totally agree! This is the best "German Chocolate Cake" recipe I have found. It does take some extra time but it is WELL worth your effort. It comes out light and fluffy and moist and the frosting is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
I made this cake for my best friend's birthday party (which I was hostessing). The icing directions say "until the mixure thickens." THICKENS TO WHAT CONSISTENCY?? DOES THAT MEAN I COOK IT 4 MINUTES OR 15 MINUTES?" I'm sure that's why the other reviewer's icing didn't solidify. Thickens like pudding? Thickens like glue? Who knows?? The author of this recipe might want to include the number of minutes neccessary to acheive this "Thick"ness. Also, a double boiler?????????? I don't know anyone that even OWNS a double boiler, other than my grandmother. Needless to say, my friend did not have a birthday cake for her birthday. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
i have to agree with scarlett1 on this. the frosting never thickened! i cooked it for 30 minutes and then just figured it might thicken when cooled. it didn't. it was very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
The cake is time consuming to make. I had the same problem with the icing not thickening. I finally took it off the heat, added lots more coconut then called for and put it in the fridge for a while. At that point though I still went out and bought some frosting because I didn't have enough to cover all the layers and the top and sides of the cake. Next time I think I will do it Betty Crocker's way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
Should have taken the other review advice. Bought frosting for this after the recipe flopped. Cake was ok I guess, just know before hand that you will need to buy the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moore, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I had this recipe for quite sometimes and I made it this past weekend. The cake was great!! It was moist and it barely lasted a day. Now I know some of you had problem with the icing. Well, I went to the orignal (4 egg yolks, 1/2 stick butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 can pet milk, 1 1/2 cup of sugar) cook for 12-20 min depends how thich you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
My husband absolutely loves German chocolate cake. He says this is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
this recipe looks great and hey, if it's got buttermilk in it it's got to be good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
To all of you who complain of the frosing not being thick enough! Have you looked at the picture?! The Frosting is dripping down the cake, which means its' not supposed to be thick also if you left yourselve enough time you would have had time enough to make a new cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States