German Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I love this cake, but instead of using shorteing i used real butter. And for the frosting i used evaporated milk instead of heavy whipping cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasty cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This recipe did not turn out the way I was expecting! The frosting was a soup, not a frosting which was terrible! The directions are not detailed enough. And to top things off the cake stuck to my pans (even after following the greasing instructions). I had to puzzle piece the cake back together using store bought frosting as paste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
this was the so easy to make and the cake came out really moist and good. The kids ate up in one day. My family can;t wait for me to make this cake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
i would give this a 5 star rating because it tasted so good but i cant because the frosting did not turn out at all. like another rater said "what thickness" when you are cooking in the double broiler. i swear i was cooking it for 20-30 min and i gave up. thought the fridge would help thicken it. it took so much time we didnt have time to let it thicken in the fridge. good thing i had left over german chocolate squares, i made frosting with those. i poured a lil of the coconut frosting on and put the chocolate frosting on the sides and some of the top. looked like a mess. but everbody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I made this yesterday. The best German Choclate cake ever. My family and co-workers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This cake would be delicious and rich if everything went well. However, although I greased and floured the four 9" pans, the layers stuck to the bottom and came out in pieces! I was going to just glue the whole thing together with the frosting but the heavy whipping cream mixture for the frosting never did thicken. After an hour, I took it off the double boiler and added the nuts, coconut and butter. Even though it has cooled down, it is still like soup. Very disappointing and very costly. I wish the recipe had told how long it took to thicken the frosting mixture. I'm off to Safeway hoping they have a German chocolate cake to take to my son's family for Christmas eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made this for the first time for my dad's birthday last week. It turned out spectacular - thanks to the previous reviews. I opted for the traditional frosting (Coconut Pecan Frosting 1) which I found on allrecipes.com as well. I added an extra oz. of the german chocolate squares. The only mishap was my fault - I did not grease and flour the pans well enough. One layer stuck but I was still able to salvage. Wow! This cake is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
My family loved this cake, which I made for Thanksgiving. In fact, my own comment was "this is a fine cake!" (and I'm extremely picky about my own cooking). My only complaint is that the cake baked up to be very heavy (but still moist and yummy!). I added extra coconut to the frosting to make it a bit thicker and topped the cake instead of adding it down the sides (where the liquid ran anyway). We all agree, the cake is twice as good on the second day. In normal cases, I would have left the cake with my family. But it was so good...it traveled 200 miles back home with us, lol. I doubt I'll have alot of events special enough for another cake of this caliber...but this one will certainly be on the list if/when there are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
My mom used to make this cake before she had an electric mixer and used a rotary beater. They were great. Since she's not with us anymore I have taken on the task...with a electric mixer. This is the trick I use for the frosting if you only want to ice the tops of the layers. I add extra coconut and nuts, and make it the night before so it thickens (I just leave it on the stove/counter covered up). It will be much richer, but there's no way getting around it...the cake is rich anyway. Also the preparation is not so time consuming. I used to make the cake then the frosting; then I'd have to wait for the hot frosting to cool, blah, blah, blah. I keep my cake in a covered cake carrier and it stays moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ganshe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
The only modification I made was to use 4oz of chocolate rather than 4 cubes. This may be the issue for those who think it isn't very chocolatey, as sometimes squares are different sizes. That said, this is hands down the best German Chocolate Cake I have ever made. Everyone at my company party raved about it. The icing isn't supposed to be very thick. It is icing, not frosting. It runs down the sides and is so darn good! Next time, I will make a double batch of the icing as I had to skimp a bit between layers to have enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States