German Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2000
This is a fabulous cake recipe. I doubled it for a birthday cake and it turned out wonderful. My family and the company loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2000
This is an extremely tasty option for good old fashioned German Chocolate Cake. The cake was fluffy and topping a great, not overly sweet, addition to it. Everyone who tried it raved! Deffinately a future use in my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
Cake was moist and good. I have never made one before and we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
Really good cake - a hit with the students in my history class. A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
This was hands down the worst cake recipe I have ever tried. It was not chocolatey, very dry, the frosting was gritty and awful. Terrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This recipe is pretty good, but not as good as German Chocolate Cake III, however, it is much quicker and easier to make. I doubled the recipe using the "change servings" function. After carefully checking all the measurements, I found discrepancies with the printed instructions, which were not updated with the ingredient list. Be careful to review the recipe when doubling and it will turn out fine. I also substituted pecans for walnuts for a more traditional frosting. Normally I would give this recipe 4 or 5 stars, but the German Chocolate Cake III is that much better if you have the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Scott Andrews

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
The recipe was okay. I didn't really like it much. I ate some. Probably wont try that recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
We chose this recipe for our Pastries class for our final project.It turned out great! it is the most delicious cake I have ever eaten! I think I am gonna make today one for my family! I would rate it even more then 5 stars.(We actually changed it a little bit.After we made the dough we cut it in two equal parts and made the cake from two layers. And we added some frosting on top and between layers. :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristinka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I am not a baker of cakes, but for my husbands birthday he asked for a German chocolate cake (his favorite) so I thought I would try it... This recipe was the easiest one so I tried it and it turned out great. Very moist, not too sweet and everyone loved it, I do not love coconut so I can only say from my point of view the cake was extra yummy! Will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
the cake recipe was very good and turned out very moist. but, the frosting was a little weird so i would suggest a canned/store bought type or another recipe's frosting. good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osage, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States