German Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
The picture of the cake is very enticing but the recipe didn't include the icing and drizzle so I found "Best chocolate frosting" and "Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze" to connect the coconut spread on top to the frosting on the side. This was my first non-box cake and I was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Fantastic!!!! We don't have German's baking chocolate here, so I took a tip from a substitutions site and added 1/2 Tablespoon sugar to each ounce of the semi-sweet chocolate that I used. I also needed a little more cream to make the topping spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Paroo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
The five stars is for the cake, however, the icing recipe is not complete. Please post recipes targeting a 7 year old reading level. Make it clear as to what you should do, step by step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I used agave instead of sugar, a goose egg instead of two chicken eggs, and ghirardelli unsweetened baking squares instead of German chocolate. The cake itself turned out to be a fabulous chocolate cake! Very moist and delicious. As for the frosting, well, it's not true German chocolate cake frosting. This is a great recipe for a good chocolate cake. I'll just try a different frosting recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texacaliutahgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Delicious! I served this as dessert when my in-laws came over for dinner. Everyone loved it! I made it with Splenda and I served it with no-sugar added vanilla ice-cream. The frosting is especially tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minonk, Illinois, USA
Living In: Metamora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Great recipe! Not dry at all. If you are using all purpose flour instead of cake flour, be sure to subtract 3 tablespoons from the 1 1/2 cups, or else you could end up with a dry cake. Also, I only baked it for 30 minutes instead of 40, my oven tends to bake fast, so I just kept an eye on it and as soon as a knife came out clean, I took it out (dry cake can also be a result of over baking) . This is a much easier, cheaper and more convenient recipe than others I found, which appeals to me as a busy mom. I loved it, my husband loved it, and we will be using it again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
the cake recipe was very good and turned out very moist. but, the frosting was a little weird so i would suggest a canned/store bought type or another recipe's frosting. good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osage, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I am not a baker of cakes, but for my husbands birthday he asked for a German chocolate cake (his favorite) so I thought I would try it... This recipe was the easiest one so I tried it and it turned out great. Very moist, not too sweet and everyone loved it, I do not love coconut so I can only say from my point of view the cake was extra yummy! Will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
We chose this recipe for our Pastries class for our final project.It turned out great! it is the most delicious cake I have ever eaten! I think I am gonna make today one for my family! I would rate it even more then 5 stars.(We actually changed it a little bit.After we made the dough we cut it in two equal parts and made the cake from two layers. And we added some frosting on top and between layers. :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristinka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
The recipe was okay. I didn't really like it much. I ate some. Probably wont try that recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States