German Chocolate Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
So yummy! I used this frosting over a chocolate cake with a layer of ganache on top of it, using this frosting last. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
I love this recipe!!! Cooked for about 12 minutes, as recommended by another reviewer...it turned out great. Really I think the 3 egg yolks help thicken the whole thing up as well...no need for any corn starch! Fabulous smell, and even better tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dave
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Wonderful recipe. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This was my first time making a German chocolate cake. This receipt was easy and it turned out wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
Quick. Easy. Great flavor. A little bit on the runny side, but maybe if you cook it longer or add more pecans and coconut, it will thicken for you. Toasted and salted the pecans to give it a more finished texture. It looked unfinished with just this frosting, so I finished the edges with a chocolate butter cream. (Made this for Megan and Mike. It's their anniversary this month! They were delighted and said it was very, very good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
The very best coconut pecan frosting I have every made or ever eaten. Take a bit longer to make but so worth the difference. Try it; you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Richardson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rondawynn
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Great recipe! This is my husbands
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MANDY
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Tastes good. I stirred for 45 min on low to med low heat. Not only didn't it thicken, but it won't set up. My husband's birthday is tomorrow and his favorite cake is german chocolate. Ok, after not being happy with the outcome, and not being one to be defeated so easily, I turned the stove back on-to med. As it warned back up, I raised the temp just slightly more. I let it come to a boil for about 5 minutes longer. Stirring all the while. It thickened to a degree that appeased me, and removed it from the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Great topping for a box cake mix. Makes it taste like home made. Be patient - it takes time for the topping to thicken but worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Great recipe! Authentic taste. It was a little dry but that was my fault. Make sure you keep a close eye on the cooking times. I made a double batch of icing which was too much. I think 1 1/2 as much would be plenty. Of course I only made two layers. It was a very dense therefor it should go a long way. The icing took a long time to thicken so I had to turn up the heat, but be cared
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States