German Chocolate Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Thanks to "Dana" for the detailed review on how to thicken it over higher heat. Use low heat until all is well blended, increase heat to boil 7 min until bubbles change to pop and pulls from edges, boil 2 more mins. No cornstarch needed. Delish. Perfect for a 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I tried this recipe last night. I've been making cakes for 40 years. Last night was the first German chocolate I've ever made. Wasn't sure how it would turn out. Gave my husband a piece of cake and watched.....his head nodded as he put another bite into his mouth. His mother makes German Chocolate cakes all the time. This was just as good. Works for me. SKC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I absolutely love this recipe! However, it did end up a little runny, so all I did was add a little more pecans and coconut to get to the thickness I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Toasted the coconut first, refrigerated the finished product overnight and made the best filling ever. I may never buy this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I was out of evaporated milk so substituted with heavy cream then added some corn starch to thicken. This was really good and so easy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mprice
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Just made this for a friend. Used butter instead of margarine and added 1/3 cup more coconut. I frosted the sides with cream cheese chocolate frosting. Put this recipe in the middle and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Love it, I added more pecans(because they were on sale). It came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was super Yummy! Mine thickened up just fine I had no problem with it turning out runny! It is sweet but it sure is tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Love this recipe. Made frosting as written and cooked on med to high for about 12 or so minutes. NO corn starch needed. I did however toast the pecans and coconut. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Superior, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luisa Love
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I just made this about an hour ago and it is yummy! I altered the recipe to my liking. I used half brown sugar and 1/2 regular sugar. I also altered the recipe to be able to use the whole 12 oz can of evaporated milk. So: 12 oz evaporated milk, 3/4 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup white sugar, 4 egg yolks, 3/4 cup butter, 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract, 1 1/2 cups chopped pecans, and 2 cups of flaked coconut. It was enough to fill my chocolate cupcakes with some of the frosting for filling and I made a chocolate shelled border and topped with remaining coconut pecan frosting!!! Posted up a pic, you will not be disappointed so delicious!!! Happy Baking Everyone!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa Love

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States