German Chocolate Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Good tasting recipe...but putting warm frosting on my cake split it in half? The cake could of had a cracked somewhere,but it wasn't visible. Will make again, it's my hubby's fav...but next time will not put on warm cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I didn't add anything, when I removed from the heat I poured it into a bowl with the coconut and pecans. This made it come together very nice and was not runny! The only thing was my little one came and got me and I had to pull some of the scrambled, I stopped mixing for a long min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I agree with the reviewer who cranked up the heat to caramelize the sugar - made it just as it's written otherwise - FAN-dang-TASTIC! I've had tons of compliments on this one and have made it several times. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love2bake21
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made this exactly as written and it turned out great. It was not thickening and I read through the reviews here and rather than mess with thickening agents, I upped the heat as others advised. It worked like a charm. I think I will use half brown and half white sugar next time to add some depth to the flavor but my kids were trying to talk me in to letting them have a small bowl of it to eat like pudding. I made 3-8" cakes and put 1 cup of this on each layer and frosted the outside with a thick chocolate cake as some mentioned it not sticking on the sides of cakes well. I didnt dam the edges but had little ooze issues. We havent cut and eaten this cake yet as it is for our 11th anniversary tomorrow night, but it looks amazing, tastes great alone and was a total sucess. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I've tried better. If you're going to make this one MAKE SURE to toast the pecans. This gives them MUCH more flavor. Make sure to watch them - they burn quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami Romney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I make many recipes from this site and tend to alter a bit, this time I followed this recipe exactly, BUT, I did add 1 tablespoon of corn starch. I think it kind of tastes more like vanilla pudding, the consistency is firm but I taste vanilla pudding...hmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I didn't have to use any corn starch. The trick is to turn up the heat and let the mixture boil for about 15 minutes, stirring constantly. Turned out nice and thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I have made this recipe before changing only the margarine with butter, and loved it. Though, it was a little thin. The last time that I made this reccipe I substituted salted butter for the margarine. I added the cornstarch to the evaporated milk as suggested by Drianna. And I switched the sugar with dark brown sugar. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I toasted the coconut and pecans first. Made a big difference. I used this between white cake layers as a filling, and frosted the cake with a fudgy chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I toasted nuts and coconut in pan. This was delicious!! I'll never buy canned again. It was a little runny but once it cooled down it helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States